more healthy granola – cranberry apple granola

Yesterday I felt the need to make the house smell nice. The kids were away – one at a basketball game and the other had gone with her dad to pick up another pony for the zoo farm.

I found a recipe in a library book, Leslie Beck’s Healthy Kitchen and modified it somewhat (as I seem to be unable to stop myself from doing) to use ingredients that I have on hand and coconut oil. This is my result:

Cranberry Apple Granola

  • 2 cups rolled oats (I use large flake, not quick oats)
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut
  • 1/4 cup seeds (I used pumpkin)
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp ground ginger
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • ¼ cup honey
  • ¼ cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 cup chopped dried apples
  • ¾ cup dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 300F. Heat honey until it’s thinned and melt the coconut oil. Add with applesauce and spices into the dry ingredients and mix well. Spread onto well-greased baking sheet (or use a silicone sheet like I did) and bake for 15 minutes. Stir, bake for another 5 minutes, stir again and bake for another 5 minutes until golden brown.

Once it has cooled, add in the dried fruit.

My measurements are often approximations. It’s pretty easy to experiment with granola and different amounts and ingredients. I didn’t have plain unsweetened applesauce, but I did have apple/raspberry sauce in the freezer from last fall – and I couldn’t tell the difference. Next time I might try a little bit more ginger – I couldn’t taste it much. I might also make it with dried blueberries instead of the apples. If you have any suggestions, let me know.

I should mention that the dad has made several batches of granola himself now. Next step, socks with sandals.

Linking to Cups by Kim, A Pinch of Joy, Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms, Frugally Sustainable, Sorta Crunchy, White Wolf Summit Farmgirl

Tagged , , ,

11 thoughts on “more healthy granola – cranberry apple granola

  1. chefconnie says:

    Nice granola and very pretty.

  2. Shira says:

    Loving the addition of apples – funny I just picked up a bag! Fabulous combo! 🙂

  3. amberwideman says:

    Mmmm….looks and sounds delicious! I’ve made my own granola bars before, but never just plain granola. I think I will have to give it a try!

    • It’s pretty easy & a lot cheaper and healthier than store bought cereal, depending on what you make it with. It’s pretty hard to screw it up, really. Even I can make it, that says a lot.

  4. Pretty and yummy looking.Maybe that’s what I should do with the ‘step child’ looking bag of dried apples that I was going to toss but then put back in the cabinet. Maybe it would actually get eaten then! Thanks for an awesome solution to this!

  5. introvertedblogger says:

    What a nice recipe. Thank you
    The photo is excellent.

  6. […] – aside from Cheerios, I make granola now. We all like it. It’s cheaper than store bought too. It also might be contributing to my […]

  7. […] So I decided on another granola. Thanks to Heidi over at LightlyCrunchy who made this fantastic Apple Cranberry Granola, I was inspired to add the apple rings to my granola instead of just indiscriminately munching on […]

So, what do you think?