our best chocolate chip cookie recipe

039

Yesterday I spent the afternoon in the kitchen baking a few sweet things to take to the island cottage with us this weekend. The girls have some friends coming to stay overnight tonight and we had thought that we’d take them with us to the island. We’ve  now decided against it – the dad saw that my walking and balance are sub-par right now and suggested we have a vacation at home instead. We have a fire pit in the backyard, a swimming site less than a mile away and a nearby creamery to take the girls to for ice cream. If we can find some, we might set off some fireworks after dark. It all seems like a reasonable substitution. The girls didn’t protest too much. They can take their friends riding, too – they love play the role of teacher when it comes to the horses.

Anyway, this is the recipe that I used, then made changes to suit my own preferences. As usual, I’m recording it here so that I can find it easily for future reference. I liked this recipe more than others that we’ve tried because the cookies stay uniform in shape and size, and they’re just the right thickness – not too cakey, and not flat and spread out. They’re rich and buttery, with crisp edges, and a soft but chewy inside. You might have to make cooking time adjustments depending on your oven – mine has a convection fan, so I’m not sure how that affects cooking time, but if you take the cookies out just as the edges are browning, they are done.

The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Printable Version

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

Cream the butter and sugars until smooth. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. In a separate bowl, stir together the flour, salt, baking soda, chocolate chips, and nuts. Add to the batter and mix well.

Drop by large spoonful’s onto ungreased pans (the cookies came out rounded and nice if I first rolled them in a small ball and flattened then slightly with a fork or spoon afterwards – either way works).

Bake for about 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until edges are nicely browned.

Tagged , , , ,

14 thoughts on “our best chocolate chip cookie recipe

  1. Looks like a good recipe. I always add extra flour so the cookies will be less crisp. Have a fun staycation.

  2. Bev says:

    I’m always on the lookout for an even better chocolate chip cookie recipe…thanks!

  3. Lynne Ayers says:

    I saw those cookies scroll up and knew it was you, Heidi. 🙂 Yum.

  4. I compared this with my mom’s recipe – she uses 2-1/4 cups flour and one cup each of white and brown sugar – otherwise, it’s the same!

  5. Great recipe Heidi.
    I hope you are feeling much better.

  6. Your recipes always have me drooling, this one is no different it has chocolate in it! 🙂 I’m sorry you are still having troubles, your husband is wonderful to notice the little things in your daily life and know when you need some rest instead. You are very lucky indeed.

  7. urbandrench says:

    OH! I am going to try these tonight!

  8. […] are important, but I found a snack was required so my boys didn’t look so out-of-place, This chocolate chip cookie recipe from Heidi is perfect, just save a couple for […]

  9. […] wrote about our chocolate chip cookie recipe, and the small squeaky kid and I are getting ramped up to start baking for school lunches. […]

So, what do you think?

