lots of chives & what to make for dinner on a rainy spring day

The first edible plant to pop up in our garden every year is chives. So, we have chives. Lots ‘n lots of chives. I was first introduced to them when I was in university and working at a country club – the gardener would bring us impoverished students produce from his garden. I’ve loved them ever since and always make sure I have some in my flower garden. They are very hardy (meaning I’ve never managed to kill them) and pretty, if I let them go to flower. I split them occasionally and give some away or move them around a bit. It seems to keep them healthier. They’ve always had a full or partial sun spot to live in, so I assume that is where they prefer to be.

Today we are going with Plan B for the weekend. It’s raining. No yard or garden work possible. I’m ok with that too. Instead, I braved the rain for a few moments to cut some chives to assemble a semi-seasonal dinner tonight. We’ll have tomato soup with croutons and drizzled chive oil and cheddar chive beer bread. Doesn’t it sound good for a dreary spring day? The kids will be less than enthusiastic about the tomato soup (they will probably live through the experience), but they will be all over the bread. We love bread.

The chive oil is super easy. It makes a very small amount, which is good because it only keeps for two weeks in the fridge. Whatever we don’t use tonight will be used for a salad dressing of some sort in the next week.

Chive Oil

  • 1 large bunch chives (1 ounce), minced
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • salt, to taste

Whiz the chives with the olive oil in a blender or food processor. Season with salt. Strain the oil through a fine sieve. Cover and refrigerate (1 to 2 weeks maximum) until ready to use.

And the cheddar chive beer bread couldn’t be easier. Six ingredients, minimal assembly and you have a nice warm quick bread loaf in under an hour. Perfect for a weekend dinner. My loaf will be cool by dinner, but I can warm it up again.

Cheddar Chive Beer Bread

  • 3 cups self-rising flour (If, like me, you don’t have this in your cupboard, make your own)
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 to 3 tbsp chopped fresh chives
  • 1 cup (or slightly more) shredded sharp Cheddar cheese
  • 1 (12-ounce) bottle beer
  • 1/4 cup melted butter

Stir together first 5 ingredients; pour (or more likely pat – it’s a pretty thick doughy batter) into a lightly greased loaf pan. Pour melted butter over top before baking. Bake at 375° for 45 minutes to an hour.

And that’s it. Now all I have left to do is fold laundry and read my library book. I love rainy Saturdays (especially when they prevent you from pulling weeds in the garden).

Linking to A Pinch of Joy, Addicted to Recipes, Frugally Sustainable, A Delightful Home, White Wolf Summit Farmgirl, Gastronomical Sovereignty

Tagged , , , , ,

37 thoughts on “lots of chives & what to make for dinner on a rainy spring day

  1. Shira says:

    I would LOVE to take some of your chives off your hands! We used to have a super robust patch that flowered gloriously ever year – alas they are gone now and I miss having all those wonderful chives! Your oil and bread sound TOO marvelously good and so easy! Love this post today….my kids aren’t big soup fans either…but with bread? Oh yes!

  2. chefconnie says:

    Wow. That bread is beautiful. I think I will make some chive oil. Very pretty color.

  3. pobept says:

    This is going to be a fun to make and fun to eat quick bread
    Thanks ~Pobept

  4. Great recipe LC. I’m going to try out your bread with dinner tonight!
    In Canada do your chives suffer from little black aphid attack in Spring? I’ve just replanted some having lost the lot a few months ago.

  5. Kate D says:

    everything looks so tasty!

  6. That bread sounds yummy! I also love chives. I first tasted them at the bagel shop I worked in. We had a spread that was just whipped cream cheese with chives. Simply and tasty! Put it on a slice of warm bread…

  7. elleadi says:

    Thanks for this post Heidi. Can’t wait for trying chive oil. Chive are so easy to grow – When I have lots of them I chop them up (very small pieces), put them in a jar and freeze them. It’s easy to do and they taste wonderful for the whole winter ;). PS: I also freeze parsley and sage leaves.

  8. Great post, (as always) And just in time for my huge chive bush growing in my backyard. I will totally have to try the bread and the oil, I had ‘google chive recipes’ on my mental to do list. One less thing to do 🙂

    • Thanks. If you find something interesting on Google you’ll have to post it for us all to see. Its nice to find new ways to use stuff from the garden.

      • I may have to, I just checked my garden (getting some Rhubarb) and there is LOTS! This rain is probably going to make 2 more bushels of it grow, and it already has flowers on it, too. I need to make something like ‘chive soup’ and take my chance that no one will want to be my friend for a couple of days, lol!

        • I might try making some chive pesto too – I saw a recipe somewhere for it. My rhubarb is coming up too – that’s next. I still have some in the freezer from last years bumper crop.

  9. So, what do I think? I think this sounds fantastic. And simple. When it comes to cooking, I love simple. How did it all turn out? I like the idea with the beer bread recipe that there’s not kneading, rising, punching down, etc… I’m copying down this recipe. And how perfectly awesome does that chive oil look? Very pretty.

  10. Sarah says:

    Oh what a fantastic post. I love everything about it! And I will be trying these recipes just as soon as possible, they are things I will love for sure. Thank you for these!

  11. emmycooks says:

    That oil is beautiful! I also just read somewhere about infusing vinegar with chive blossoms (apparently it turns pink, which is incentive enough for me). Can’t wait to do both! When I have a bunch of chives (especially if it’s raining) I like to make this amazing soup–I used CSA field peas when I wrote it up but I make it all the time so I can tell you that it’s also great with plain lentils or split peas: http://emmycooks.com/2012/01/07/the-best-soup-of-2011/ That picture shows just a sprinkle of chives but I like it with a nice big pile. 🙂

  12. I love chives. Never thought of making an oil with it! Thank you! And the bread sounds like a keeper–will have to try it!

  13. Jennifer says:

    Such gorgeous pictures! That salad dressing is BEAUTIFUL!

  14. I love love love bread and this sounds so good! Thank you do much for sharing this recipe, and the recipe for the chive oil! I look forward to your next post at Scrumptious Sunday!

  15. Charlene says:

    I think this sounds like a perfect rainy Saturday – bread baking, chive oil waiting! Thanks so much for sharing on Busy Monday at A Pinch of Joy. Hope to see you again next week!

  16. […] banana bread, but instead of going to my usual recipe, I decided to try a sweet variation of my beer bread. It turned out great and is nicely tucked away in the lunchpails right now (what little I was able […]

  17. […] now we are enjoying chives and rhubarb – the first two things to arrive in our garden. Our neighbours have also been […]

  18. […] used to run a tea room, so I thought I’d give her something a little different. I made some cheddar chive beer bread to include in the basket for the bread portion (except this time I replaced the chives with fresh […]

  19. Sam says:

    Chives are the one herb I can never manage to use up fast enough (well, those and dill). I want that bread! It looks delicious!

    Thanks for sharing with the Fresh Foods Blog Hop!

  20. I’m with Sam – I can’t seem to get mine growing quickly enough. Or at all. haha – oops! Last year I had tomatoes coming out my ying yang but no chives for a tomato chive salad. Mind you, if I had made them into oil I could probably stretch them further…

    …your photography is beautiful, btw.

    Thanks for sharing with Fresh Foods Wednesday! I hope you have something for us again this week 🙂

  21. Susan says:

    This bread is amazing. I couldn’t even wait for gardening time…I bought some chives so I could make it now. Love, love, love it!

So, what do you think?