easy fermented jalapeno hot sauce

We planted peppers in the same style that we plant tomatos. Go big or stay home. There are two rows of pepper plants in the garden, and about half of the plants are jalapenos. They are just now starting to turn red, so I will probably be making this sauce again with the red jalapenos, but since there is a 2 week lead time for the fermentation process, I will post what I have so far. Our peppers are a little hotter this year than last year, but I like the bite of this sauce. It hits hard up front, but doesn’t leave a huge burn and tastes quite good. Next time I might also throw in a couple of onion halves on top to help keep the peppers in the brine and add a little extra something to the flavour.

The process is really simple; it requires 2 weeks to ferment and then you can make it into a sauce. I followed the recipe found here, and the only change was the kind and colour of pepper that I used. I used what I had on hand. Next year I would like to try growing some cayennes too and will make the sauce again with the cayennes.

You’ll need a pint jar or two, depending on how much you’d like to make – I filled 2 jars and it gave me just over a whole pint jar of sauce once it was processed.

Fermented Jalapeno Hot Sauce

  • jalapenos peppers, enough to fill two pint jars
  • garlic, 4 or 5 cloves per jar
  • 2 1/2 tsp sea salt per jar
  • water

Wash pepper and cut off stem end. Stuff peppers and garlic in the jars as tightly as possible. Add 2 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt per jar, fill up remaining space with water and screw on lids. Give it a shake and place it someplace cool and dark for 2 weeks. Once the two weeks are up, waz it up (my own technical term) in blender or food processor. It should keep well in the fridge for up to 1 year.

Leave the lid on for the two weeks – don’t take it off, you want the fermentation process to take place. You can keep an eye on it though – if a moldy looking scum seems to form on top, skim it off and carry on. I didn’t have any scum, but when I did open it after two weeks it fizzed like champagne, which is normal. Depending on your blending method, this will be a slightly pulpy sauce.

Linking to Frugally Sustainable, A Delightful Home, Simple Lives Thursdays, White Wolf Summit Farmgirl, Mind Body and Sole, Foy Update, A Delightful Home, Like a Mustard Seed, An Oregon Cottage

Tagged , , , , , , ,

42 thoughts on “easy fermented jalapeno hot sauce

  1. did you go through a canning process with this — I am not very handy dandy but my son wants to make this sauce — so once it is made, how do you keep it? You may have already said this in the directions–but reiterate for an idiot

  2. oceannah says:

    I think you had a pic of this a bit back…thanks for posting the recipe today!! It looks great and I like to add as much fermented food as I can to the fams diet 😉 Peppers FINALLY taking on some color here. Perfect timing Heidi.
    Hope you’re enjoying the long stretches of quiet in your house this week between 7-3 😉
    *anna

  3. arzea says:

    My husband would love this! I am pinning for future making!

  4. Kathryn says:

    I have seen this recipe and the whole idea of fermenting freaks me out! But after reading your post, I’m going to give it a shot. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • I made fermented pickles too this year and like them. Next up we are trying sour kraut, like my grandparents used to make. I remember helping chop the cabbage when I was a kid.. and then remember the smell of the fermenting cabbage in the house. But it tastes so good.. and it’s good for you, full of beneficial bacteria.

  5. pobept says:

    I don’t know what it taste like, but, it looks really good. I do like peppers and pepper sauce. I have got to give this a try.
    Happy Fall Gardening

  6. Heidi, this looks really easy. I make something similar but make salsa verde on the stove top with tomatillo tomatoes, peppers, onion and garlic and then into the jars it goes. Or tummies if I have tortilla chips around 🙂

  7. You are amazing. Where do you find the time to do this, work outside the home, write your blog and care for your beautiful daughters? Thank you for another good recipe.

  8. Lynne Ayers says:

    Jalapeno caught my eye on this one – my big guy LOVES his hot sauces … on EVERYthing I might add. He looked over my shoulder and told me to print this one Heidi – 🙂

  9. I get the feeling you have LOTS of fruit and veg now pickled, preserved, whatever. I’m amazed by all the different receipes you have.

  10. Subtlekate says:

    Ohh I love this, I will have to try it.

  11. saradraws says:

    This is so easy even I could do it. Is there a danger in letting sit longer than two weeks? I’m kind of forgetful. But I know this would be a big hit for certain people in my family. Also, if I wanted to make one a Christmas gift, do you think it would be ok at room temp for a while?

  12. Jessica L. says:

    Nice! I have a good amount of peppers in my garden and have been wondering what to do with them all! Thanks!

  13. Somer says:

    I’m afraid of fermented food. I think my parents thought things were good for 2 weeks in the fridge and I’ve seen my dad scraping mold off things more than I’d like to admit.

    You may have convinced me to give this a go though, it looks pretty yummy.

  14. Shira says:

    This sounds amazing Heidi! I am a giant fan of fermented foods too, bring on the sauerkraut! Love that you have such an awesome harvest coming on, what a treat to see it all happen!

  15. Allison says:

    This looks great! Thanks for the recipe. I have a friend who has a small bounty of cayenne peppers in her garden right now, so I’m going to send this to her and see if she wants to make something similar with those. : )

  16. Nancy says:

    Could you use vinegar instead of water?

    • Not to ferment it, no. There are other cooked vinegar sauces around the Internet though.

      • Nancy says:

        Thanks for your reply. I will try your recipe. I was wondering if you add an onion, would that be okay? I have a ton of peppers so I don’t know what I am going to do with all of them. I have already frozen quite a few whole. Will freezing this kill the good that comes from the fermenting process?

        • Yes, you can add an onion – no problem. I’m not sure about using the peppers after they have been frozen – they might just mush in the brine – but you could always give it a try and see how it goes. You shouldn’t need to freeze this afterwards – it’ll last for up to a year in the fridge. Mine needs a good shake before each use – it’s pulpy and the liquid and the pulp seperates a bit.

  17. […] I just can’t look at another tomato and want to do something with it. We’ve also made fermented jalapeno hot sauce, hot pepper jelly, roasted red peppers and caramelized onions that we put in the […]

  18. Hello, new follower here! I would love to have you link up with my Clever Chicks Blog Hop this week!
    http://www.the-chicken-chick.com/2012/10/upcycled-chicken-coop-clever-chicks.html

    I hope to see you there!
    Cheers!
    Kathy
    The Chicken Chick

  19. Pat says:

    Before you use blender on your peppers, do you drain the water off or leave it with the peppers?

  20. Joe says:

    Starting a batch of fermented jalapenos tonight. here too Heidi, little or no fall season for crops. Garlic in now for next year though. Thanks for recipe.

So, what do you think?