sauteed peas with bacon (give peas a chance)

I know, bad pun. I’m sorry. I’m still on holiday and my brain has regressed a bit.

We continue to enjoy peas from the garden, but in order to keep it interesting (not that I ever get sick of fresh peas), we tried it out this way last night:

Sautéed Peas with Bacon

  • 5 slices of bacon, coarsely chopped
  • 2 or 3 green onions (or small sweet onion)
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, crushed or minced
  • 3 cups peas (fresh or frozen)
  • Salt & freshly ground black pepper

Cook bacon and onion over medium heat until onion softens. Add the peas and garlic and cook, stirring, until tender and heated through. Remove from heat. Add salt and pepper to taste, and serve immediately.

It’s pretty easy and quick to make while you are grilling pork chops and boiling new baby potatoes. I even made a cole slaw to go along with it. It tasted like summer. The potatoes and onions were also from the garden. And we picked our first cucumber! Should I be that excited about it?

This can be made even quicker if you keep bacon already cooked and chopped in the freezer (I do) and have bacon grease saved in jars in the fridge (I have 3 jars in there right now – seems like we enjoy our bacon grease, doesn’t it). That way you just use about a tablespoon of the grease and a handful of the frozen bacon pieces and can quickly assemble the side dish.

Along with summer meals comes summer injuries. I can see that I am going to have to learn to make salves sometime soon. The tall kid fell off of her horse yesterday and arrived home looking like she’d been dragged behind a tractor. She managed to get road rash all over her back, shoulders and some of her arm. Poor thing, but she did pretty good. She wants to ride again for 4-H on Thursday, so that is a good sign. Just another day in the life..

Linked to Frugally Sustainable , A Pinch of Joy, White Wolf Summit Farmgirl, A Delightful Home, Eat, Make, Grow

Tagged , , , ,

40 thoughts on “sauteed peas with bacon (give peas a chance)

  1. Kerry says:

    So sorry about the fall. Ouch!
    Peas look yum. Wish I had this in front of me on a plate right now!

  2. bacon and peas – oh my. and you keep bacon grease- I used to then guilt took over – I think I may just put guilt on a back burner for a while.
    hope tall one feels better–but the fact that she is not giving up means it did not damage her-(damage being an extreme word in this case)
    I love your blog – it is comforting

    • Our kids fall off of horses constantly. And they are the least accident prone members of our family. When I took my first aid certificate course, the asked me what I thought the most important first aid tip would be – I answered, “a full tank of gas – I can drive to the hospital faster than the ambulance can get all the way out to us”. Don’t think that was the answer she was looking for, but it’s the way things are around here.

      And pork fat is awesome..

  3. boar and peas? Looks pretty yummy. I had a fall like that in high school and still have some scars on my arm. I just think of them as proof that I used to do fun stuff. Hope she heals quickly.

  4. One of my finest childhood memories was sitting with a huge bowl shelling peas from their pods. (This will come as a shock to those who believe that peas are round and they come in a can). By the way, this recipe also works well with fresh green beans.

    • It works well with brussel sprouts too – though I like the sprouts sauteed until they’re nice and browned. I’m still waiting for the beans to come up – the first planting didn’t germinate, so we had to try again. They’re just tiny at this point.

      I hope my kids look back on these days fondly – they certainly complain about the picking and shelling right now..

  5. Heather says:

    Poor kiddo! OUCH! And the peas look wonderful. Thanks for sharing that recipe. Looking forward to peas and bacon :9

  6. Jennifer says:

    Yippie! I love peas but have run out of ways to make them. This sounds great! Hope that road rash heals quickly, bless her heart. That looks painful. 😦

    • Tonight, the peas are making another appearance in fried rice with the leftover pork – I never get sick of them.

      Big kid seems to heal quickly, luckily. We have lots of falling off of horses experience around here. Except me. No self respecting horse would let me on his back – I’m a total rookie.

  7. LOVE me some peas and bacon. Yum! Thanks for reminding me of this…it may be our side dish to go with our burgers tonight! And your poor kid! Hopefully that heals up soon. Rashes to me generally feel worse than an actual cut!

  8. Ooh, this looks good. Peas are vegetables my kids will eat plain, too, so this might just make them fall in love with peas completely.

    Ouch on the fall from the horse!

  9. meanwhilein3 says:

    Since your previous post, Peas + bacon has been on my mind. Looks delicious!

  10. What a coincidence – I’ve had bacon except it was mangetout rather than shelled peas that sautéed with them 🙂

    • I let the peas go too long – we didn’t get to try any at the stage were we could still eat them in the pod.

      Are mangetout like snow peas, meant to be eaten with the pods?

      • I believe mangetout is the British English for snowpeas. I never leave them long enough to develop any peas inside the pods but I guess that would happen eventually.

        • The translation from the French is “eat all”, which is what made me guess they are like snow peas. Funny, you’d think that in Canada we’d use the French term and in GB, you’d use the English translation.

          • Yes, it is perhaps a little strange that you don’t use the French term in Canada – although in Canadian French do they use ‘mangetout’ (according to my French dictionary the word with this meaning has only been in usage since 1835)? Here there is a lot of crossover between the two languages (i.e. between English and French), so I’m not so surprised about us using it.

  11. Ow! Hopefully less painful than it looks!
    Yum! I have a handful of beans in the gaden and bacon in the fridge… off to find an onion now… – Kara

  12. Roar Sweetly says:

    Yum, yum, yum! What a great side dish to have.

  13. oceannah says:

    Tall one is hale and hearty…it’s not how far you fall but how high you bounce and she probably bounced right back on 🙂 Pork-n-peas yum…pork and __________ yum. I’m a saver of that bacon grease too!! Why waste such a useful condiment, eh?

    *anna

  14. Somer says:

    I’m a former bacon addict, shhh. I still do fakin bacon at times, wonder if it would get too soggy with the peas. That’s too bad about the tall kid fall, but it seems like she’s a tough cookie!

  15. Boo for the injury! Yay for the recipe! 🙂

  16. I love the recipe Heidi, and your hints to go with it. I have never thought of keeping cooked pieces of bacon in the freezer, but it makes sense! Hope the patient is feeling much better.

    • She’s much better, thanks! I’ve been finding all kinds of shortcuts for the freezer – anything that makes getting dinner on the table faster, especially in the winter, when we are often right back out the door for hockey.

  17. Sheryl says:

    Sound good–I’ll have to try it soon. I love bacon and almost any vegetable. 🙂

  18. Love your kid’s attitude about getting right back up on the horse… literally in this case! I bet she was a bit sore beyond the road rash as well.

  19. Ouch! That looks so painful!

  20. slowborg says:

    Oh excellent injury! I don’t know if your daught is anything like me but I wear my injuries like a badge of honour. I got kicked in the face by a horse when I was in grade 6. Looked like the elephant man but I was proud as punch! Nobody else got hoofed in the face, I was AWESOME! lol.

    • Unfortunately school is out for summer – noone to show off the scars to yet. The one in her armpit where the horse stepped on her is quite impressive.

      • slowborg says:

        aaaw armpit! Now that’s painful. I fell down a massive tree with my arms up and tore my armpits to shreds, was horrible spending a week with my arms out trying not to sting and itch! And nobody to show them too, that’s rough. Photos. 🙂

So, what do you think?

