kohlrabi slaw – or, maybe my brother will like this

This was our first year growing kohlrabi. I can’t say that I love it yet, but I have no experience with it before now. Maybe I’m too old to try new things? But garden guilt won out again, and since I grew it, we had to try it. It tastes something similar to brocolli stems, cabbage hearts and turnip all rolled into one vegetable. Which, in my opinion, would make it great in soups and stews, so I will cut the remaining ones into chunks, blanch them for a couple of minutes, and freeze them for the days when I feel like making soups and stews.

And reading through a few recipes, I found some interesting ones, but this one stuck out as easy and something that I could make right away. And she waxed so lyrical about it, that I needed to try it. Then I made my own changes, so I doubt I even had the same experience that she did, but mine was good nonetheless. And reading another woman’s suggestion that kohlrabi reminds her of the song Volare has the endless voice of Dean Martin singing Kohlraaaaaaabi, o-o-o-o in my head. And now in yours.

My sister-in-law to be (the wedding is this weekend) left a comment last night that my brother wouldn’t try the kohlrabi that she bought – so maybe he will eat this.

A few changes that I made – my husband said that he wouldn’t eat it if I added fish sauce (he should never be around when I am reading recipes, because what he doesn’t know, in the end, never hurts him), but I humoured him because when I took the fish sauce out of the cupboard, I decided that maybe it was past it’s prime. I also substituted olive oil for the sesame oil, because mine had also gone off. Next on my list of things to do – clean out the spice cabinet. And, instead of bird eye chilli, I used some of the hot pepper jelly that we just made (it seemed like a reasonable substitution), but I also think Srirachi sauce would be a good substitution (mine was at work). I also used half as much oil – I don’t like oily dressings. You might like a pinch or two of sugar, if you prefer some sweet in the dressing – I added in some raisins (after the picture was taken). And as always, I don’t really measure salad dressings, I just pour, taste and repour until it seems right. So take these measurement with a grain of salt (pun intended).

Kohlrabi Slaw – serves 2

  • 1 kohlrabi (mine were small – I used 2)
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 apple
  • 2 tbsp vinegar of your choice (or try lemon juice)
  • 1 tbsp oil of your choice
  • 1 tbsp hot pepper jelly (or srirachi sauce – just use less)
  • a pinch of cumin
  • raisins (half a handful, or so)
  • salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Cut the sputnik arms off of the kohlrabi and peel the hard woody outer peel off. Cut the kohlrabi, apple and carrot into matchsticks (or shred them in the food processor, like I did).

Toss the kohlrabi and the apple with the remaining ingredients and chill before eating. Add any other ingredients that you think would taste good. It’s slaw – anything goes.

Linked to Frugally Sustainable, Gastronomical Sovereignty, GNOWFGLINS, Mind Body and Soul

Tagged , , , , , ,

38 thoughts on “kohlrabi slaw – or, maybe my brother will like this

  1. Kholrabi is a funny vegetable! I was first introduced to it through my CSA a few years ago and ate alot of it on sandwiches and in slaw, but I think your idea to toss in soups is better!

  2. I love the way you write – cut the sputnik arms off — you are so entertaining

  3. sued51 says:

    I like the soup idea too; although I like turnip, cabbage, and broccoli. My husband made some once a while ago. I remember that we liked it, but I guess not strongly enough because we haven’t tried it again, and I don’t remember how he fixed it the last time. Your post is a reminder to perhaps try it again.

  4. Before reading your blog today, I had never heard of Kholrabi. Very interesting. It is good to learn about new things. Thanks.

  5. I have never eaten kohlrabi, but I would probably try it in a soup first, that’s how I try most vegetables the first time. I like how you cook, substituting from whatever you find still good in the pantry. I make most meals by simply mixing up whatever is available.

  6. Somer says:

    I’ve never had kohlrabi, it fascinates me! It looks ancient, and intriguing, I didn’t know it’s flavor profile so thanks for sharing that info. That slaw recipe looks incredible, I’ll have to try it with the veg I have on hand.

    p.s. fish sauce that’s off is never a good thing. I remember smelling some once that was over a year past expiration. I’ll never forget it. Oh and I keep my sesame oil in the fridge 🙂

  7. We love kohl rabi. We peel it and dip big raw chunks in salad cream…it tastes so lovely and is a healthy snack for the kids.

    Also, if it gets a bit too big I make a kohl rabi gratin…boil the khol rabi until soft, mix it with a white sauce and top with cheese, put in the oven gas mark 6 for 20 mins….and it’s lovely lovely lovely.

    ….did I say we like kohl rabi? lol

  8. Lauren says:

    I am still a bit perplexed by kohlrabi, which shows up in our CSA box every so often. I throw it into a traditional cole slaw (sometimes with other veggies), or use it in the stir fry. After that, I’m pretty much out.

  9. Chrystal says:

    Thanks for the recipe. I’ll try it and see if your brother will eat it that way.

  10. emmycooks says:

    I like kohlrabi but usually just roast it with other veggies. Do you think fish sauce ever goes bad? I thought it just aged like fine wine. 😉

  11. naimavanswol says:

    That slaw looks delish, tho. Your description of its taste sounds like something I would like. I think i need to try it. Also, I live the phrase garden guilt. We have CSA guilt! LOL!

  12. Yinzerella says:

    Damn you for getting that song in my head.

  13. Sarah says:

    Boy does that sound and look GOOD. Here’s how lame I am, I’ve never even heard of kohlrabi. Sad. I’ll be looking for it now, because both of us love anything “slaw”. This recipe is great Heidi!

    Volare….LOL!!!!!

  14. Your posts are always great! A wonderful experience, someday maybe I’ll have a sense of humor too. 🙂 Thanks for sharing all that you do. I do appreciate the recipes and tips for substitutes.

  15. Kohlrahbi isn’t my favorite, but your writing is.

  16. This sounds fantastic. I just might have to give it a try. It is quite similar to my Bok Choy Apple slaw.

  17. MrsYub says:

    I grew kholrabi for the first time this Autumn gone, and admittedly most of them were long rather than round, but their flavour is much milder than that of radish (which I have NO trouble growing!!) so was easier to incorporate into the meals. I Like your recipe. I am pinning this for next year when I grow them again! Thankyou so much for sharing 😀

  18. A new vegetable that I have not heard of before. Looking at your description of the taste, combining it with cumin and hot pepper jelly sound like it will be a good “vehicle” for the hot and spicy flavours.

  19. i like your rendition of kohlrabi slaw – the spicy would give it a good kick. i have my own recipe i usually use and i stick it on sliders and the like…. hm.. i think i’d like to try this one 🙂 and we all need new kohlrabi recipes – they’re tricky little suckers to figure out.

    thanks for sharing with us at the Wednesday Fresh Foods Link-up! I hope to see you again this week with more seasonal & whole/real food posts! xo, kristy.

  20. […] wrote about trying a kohlrabi slaw and a honey lemon ginger tea mix that is nice for colds and sore throats (or even just mixed into a […]

So, what do you think?