signs of autumn

The small squeaky kid always insists on scarecrows.

That one last pot of passata before the tomatoes were all done. And now they are done.

Apples bought from the local orchard – our tree didn’t produce anything this year.

Some of the last few harvests from the garden.

Piano lessons starting.

We are nearly done with the garden for the season. I’ll miss the fresh produce, but I think I’m ok with a short break from it all. There are still a few things to be done. We have to cure and store the potatoes, make sauerkraut, freeze the last of the kohlrabi and make some slaw with some of it, bake and puree some pumpkins and I’m going to try making some Lousiana style red hot sauce with the last of the jalapenos. I also noticed tonight that there are a ton of little green peppers on the plants still, so if it warms up a bit more again, we’ll have more of them to cut up for the freezer. And there will be a few stuffed acorn squash for dinner this week (shh.. don’t tell my kids). I’m still waiting to see if the brussels sprouts grow – so far with have big leafy plants, but no sprouts. I suspect that means no sprouts, period. It was our first attempt, maybe next year we’ll have better luck.

I turned the heat on tonight for the first time too – that is a definite sign of autumn. We’re snuggled up under blankets waiting for the dad and the tall kid to return from hockey practice. There might even be tea in my future. That’s a far cry from the beer on the back deck that we were enjoying at this point last month.

Linked to Frugally Sustainable

Tagged , , , ,

43 thoughts on “signs of autumn

  1. It seemed like the longest, hottest summer here and then all of sudden, as you say, it goes from beer (or in our case, lemonade) right to hot tea. Loved the pictures!

  2. A Table in the Sun says:

    The series of photos tell a nice story. I wonder why your apple tree didn’t produce this year?

  3. love autumn and love all your signs of autumn– I would turn the heat on if our furnace worked but we need a new fan–so I will just have to walk around with my big warm housecoat on over my clothes until we get it fixed

  4. I’m glad to see you survived tomato season. The heat hasn’t been turned back on here yet, but I’ve had to close the apartment up and add extra blankets to the bed, I like to be really, really warm to sleep. It was a wonderfully long summer, best I can ever remember, but as quickly as it arrived back in March, it left just as quickly now.

  5. Fen. says:

    been following your garden posts…so jealous! Maybe next year when the babe is not stuck to me.

  6. Chrystal says:

    Your brother has never heard of kohlrabi before – I bought some the other day and asked him to try it, but he turned his nose up at it. I have loved it since I was a kid. Thought it was interesting that you grew it in your garden this year. 🙂 I’ve never made coleslaw with it though… might have to try that.

  7. I think it sounds like you still have a lot of preparation of your garden to finish…but for now enjoy your tea…Diane

  8. Great Fall photos. 🙂 Still running the AC here at 7:15 p.m. but August and September are the hottest months in these parts. In a couple of weeks though we will take a trip to both sides of the Washington/British Colombia border so we should enjoy a bit of a Fall chill there!

  9. Shira says:

    I always love the way you describe your days in your posts Heidi, so authentic and warm. Enjoy the new season and the break from all that gardening! What will you do with all that kohlrabi? I am so curious!

  10. That was a lovely Autumny post. Love your photos and all that produce! Fabulous! Enjoy your tea before you continue with all that processing. I’m interested in how you cure potatoes. All the best 🙂

  11. naimavanswol says:

    Beautiful photos. I love fall, don’t you?

  12. lessandragr says:

    Good post. Don’t give up on the brussel sprouts. I’ve grown them 3 times and the last two were successful. They just take a Very long time to start growing sprouts – it seems forever that they grow big old leaves but then, eventually you should have some sprouts. BTW, I Love kohlrabi cooked with a white sauce. They taste like a mild, delicate brussel sprout.

  13. I bet you will be happy to be done with the garden produce. The word passata is new to me. Despite not having a garden, I scrounged tomatoes from others and ended up making 3 batches of roasted tomato this-and-that from your recipes!

  14. PJ Girl says:

    Those apples look gorgeous Heidi… there are signs of Autumn here too (but we’re secretly still waiting for Summer to start!!).

  15. Somer says:

    My older quieter one insists on scarecrows too 🙂 Your sieve is fantastic, I’ve gotta find a new one, my wire one is getting all rusted.

  16. amberwideman says:

    It’s sad to move on from the summer but I must admit that Fall is my favourite season! There are so many fabulous things that happen in the Fall–the local fair, beautifully coloured trees, scarves(!!!), and one of my favourite flavours…pumpkin! I hope you enjoy the moments that your Fall brings to you. It already seems like you’ve started to!

  17. shoes says:

    I am a fan of the scarecrow – we are going to be going to our local scarecrow festival next weekend! I am sad that the summer time is fading but there are a lot of good fall things to look forward to.

  18. MrsYub says:

    I LOVE the scarecrow!! I don’t need one, but I may have to make one!

    i’m reading you talking about it getting cooler and I’m going, ‘huh?’ then I’m *facepalm* ‘you’r over THERE!” Silly me! I swaer I have cotten woool for brains sometimes!! We are just starting to warm up over here. I have managed to leave the heater off a couple of times!

  19. Glad to see you got your apples, Heidi! Tell your girl (girls?) good luck with the piano lessons!

So, what do you think?

