Today

outside

Outside my window:

It’s sunny and warm. The cat is sunning and keeping an eye out for birds at the feeder, the dog is napping. the dad is mowing lawn and the kids are running wild playing.

I am thinking:

About how to convince the dad that we need a donkey again. There used to be donkeys here at the farm to keep the cows company (there are neither cows nor donkeys now) and the neighbouring farmer has said that he would be more than happy to provide one. I just need to find a good reason why to convince the dad.

I am thankful:

That my mom was able to get me in to see her hairdresser to fix the haircut that I got earlier in the week. It made me look like a cross between Bart Simpson’s Aunt Selma and my mom’s Shih Tzu. It looks much better now. It’s short, but considering what she had to work with, that’s ok.

In the kitchen:

Nothing is happening. We’ve been invited to a barbeque and bonfire at the neighbours for the evening, which nicely solves the problem of what to make for dinner.

I am wearing:

A t-shirt, cargo pants and sandals. I will have to change before dinner.

I am creating:

Nothing, unless you count planting some containers and setting up a bit of an arrangement of furniture and “stuff” on the front porch. Previously, the front porch and front door didn’t get any use because the driveway comes up to the side of the house and everyone just walked in through the garage or the screened porch. Now that we’ve moved in and storage customers will be coming to the house, I’ve posted a couple of signs for them to come to the front door and ring the doorbell. So far it’s working.

I am going:

To have a nap before dinner.

I am wondering:

If the newly approved experimental MS drug that is supposed to be delivered to the house directly from the drug company will work. Since it’s a drug that is supposed to prevent further exacerbations or disability (but maybe not all), it will be difficult to tell.

026

I am reading:

A Wanted Man by Lee Child. It’s mystery/suspense escapism.

038

I am hoping:

The kids remain peaceful and don’t start fighting. Oops, too late.

I am looking forward to:

Getting back to work soon. I’m getting bored at home.

I am learning:

That taking it slow is smarter. On the days that I feel ok and end up doing too much, I pay for it the next day. Hopefully that will get better soon.

Around the house:

The dad and the kids have hilled the potatoes today, mowed lawn, put down grass seed at Baba’s house and we’ve watered the plants and swept the patio. And then the wind blew it all back.

A favorite quote for today:

I usually take a two-hour nap from one to four. Yogi Berra 

One of my favorite things:

Cherries. They’ve been on sale the last few weeks and I’ve been eating them continuously. I don’t think I can get sick of cherries.

A few plans for the rest of the week:

I haven’t made any plans. I’m ok with that.

Tagged , ,

31 thoughts on “Today

  1. shoes says:

    I very much like the format of this post.

    If it would help your donkey cause any, you can tell “the dad” that it would make me quite happy if you happened to obtain a donkey (assuming you were to occasionally post pictures of said donkey and write a bit about him). I would like to have a pet goat (or two) but Husband thinks this is a crazy idea. Maybe I will see what he thinks about a donkey…

    • There used to be two of them over here – the kid’s called them Mr. and Mrs. Murray because the farmer that brought them is named Murray. He used to pasture a few pregnant cows with the horses and always brought donkeys too. I think donkeys are supposed to scare off coyotes. Maybe if I convince him to also get a couple of steer to finish (for the freezer) he would be more agreeable. That, and it would make you happy. And me. 🙂

  2. Gotta love those MS drugs… Or not . Did u post a picture of pic of you and your new hairdo? I enjoy reading your blog. I seem to mostly whine on mine. Loved the furniture polish recipe too. It didn’t leave a greasy or oily film but did leave a nice glow

  3. I’m sorry that you seem to be having some increased symptoms of the MS. I’m so glad though that you do know to take naps and not do too much for too long. Take care Heidi..Diane

  4. Roar Sweetly says:

    It’s not often you read a post about trying to acquire a donkey. Love it.

  5. Your porch and patio are lovely. I hope your new medication helps you quickly. I seem go remember you wishing you could be a stay at home mom, guess you are rethinking that now that boredom has set in.

  6. I love the pic of the kids with the soaker guns!

  7. Subtlekate says:

    A donkey. How fantastic!
    Good things are being said about the drug. I’m prescribing it. Keep us updated.

  8. naimavanswol says:

    Awesome post. Things look peaceful around your neck of the woods. Hope you’re feeling better soon and can get back to work.

  9. I love hearing about your life – you have a way of drawing people in. I hope the new medicine does what it needs to do and that you have made the realization that not overdoing is a better way to go–it is a hard lesson to learn.
    Why do you want a donkey–it sounds like a lovely thing to want–
    I remember the days when all I wanted was for my sons to get along–they are big kids now, actually as my youngest son says – manboys – but that does not always stop the “disagreements” though things have been pretty good lately (keeping my fingers crossed).
    Hope you have a lovely day today–

  10. Jennifer says:

    Did I mention I love your posts? LOVE them. They make me happy when I read them. I hope you get back to work soon and your boredom ceases ASAP. Love the picture with the girls in the yard and that you have no plans for the rest of the week. Plans are so over rated. 🙂

  11. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Hi Heidi, what a gorgeous day, thanks for sharing! (Jack Bower; ) You’re right about the reason for guard donkeys, and they (or it) would definitely earn its/their keep, babysitting the girls’ horses and a couple of lovely grass-fed steer calves (and hey, “The Dad”, wouldn’t it be nice to have a freezer-full this winter?; )
    Glad you’re pacing yourself and that you got your hair “fixed” in time… (Some people just can’t DO curly hair): but hey, y’know that old joke – I know I’ve heard it a million times – “The only difference between a good haircut and a bad one?” Two weeks!; )
    Good luck with those new meds, and know that there are lots of us thinking of you, sending love, strength and best wishes.

  12. Sarah says:

    I love this post. It’s a bit of escapism for me….and learning too. The donkey is cracking me up. And I do love your choice of reading too. 🙂 Added that one to my list!

    The tulip picture in the header is beautiful Heidi! And I love the collage too. What a pretty place you have. I could stay on that porch all day long…

    I sure hope you’re feeling at least a little better…:(

    • I am feeling better, thanks. The symptoms are slowly going away – that makes me happy.

      I finished The Starlight Drive-In last night. Good call – I enjoyed it. It was a bit sad, but I think it would make a good book club choice for next year. I’m going to suggest it. I haven’t been going to book club this year, but I think I will start again this fall.

      • Sarah says:

        Oh good! Yes, it makes me happy to hear that too!

        I’m glad you liked the book too. 🙂 I’ve never been to a book club before, I’ve always thought about it, but never did it. One of these days….

So, what do you think?