remember that hard chocolate sauce you used to get on cones at Dairy Queen?

As I mentioned earlier, we’ve been adding a bit of coconut oil to our diet because it’s supposed to have lots of healthy benefits. Searches of different websites have repeated most of the same claims. I’ll take the claims with a grain of salt, but I’m willing to try an oil that has the potential of being healthier than most. So far we’ve noticed that it makes great lip balm for the licky small squeaky kid and it makes you poop like a 2 month old. I suppose both are good things.

I also discovered that you can make hard shell chocolate ice cream sauce with it. We just made ice cream. Match made in heaven.

Hard Shell Chocolate Sauce

  • 1 ½ cups semi-sweet chocolate chips or large bar of dark chocolate, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • pinch of salt

Heat the chocolate and coconut oil together in a bowl over some simmering water until smooth and fully melted. Remove from heat and stir in the salt. Let cool slightly and spoon over ice cream. It will harden after a few seconds.

Store any leftovers (ha!) in the fridge. Reheat as needed.

** I would bet that this would be really good with a couple of drops of peppermint extract added to it. 

Linking to: Frugally Sustainable, Our Simple Farm, Skip to My Lou, A Turtle’s Life for Me, Cozy Home Scenes, A Pinch of Joy, Addicted to Recipes, Cups by Kim, Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms, Homestead Simple

Tagged , , , , ,

30 thoughts on “remember that hard chocolate sauce you used to get on cones at Dairy Queen?

  1. Kseniya says:

    I’m going to try this as soon as I can get some coconut oil! I love that this is the same thing as the bottle, but has only three ingredients, and can be customized with different flavors!

  2. OMG that’s it?! I thought there was some complicated scientifical formula to get that stuff to harden up. My two favorite things are coconut oil and chocolate. I think we’ll be eating this for dinner tonight 🙂

  3. HappyMrsBass says:

    This seems amazing and oh so simple! Who would have thunk it, lol! I am gonna have to try this out. Hmmm…I wonder what would happen if you added a smidge of natural peanut butter???

  4. Shira says:

    Love this idea! So easy and perfect!

  5. Janet S says:

    My husband is going to love you. First, reminding me to use our ice cream maker, and now topping the ice cream with a chocolate shell. Gotta go to the store now for the cream…

  6. I always assumed the chocolate shell stuff was possible due to nasty chemicals, but this makes total sense! You are brilliant! I like the various flavoring ideas I’m reading in the post and in the comments as well.

  7. amberwideman says:

    Mmmm…sounds delicious. Does the coconut oil actually give it a slightly coco-nutty taste (I LOVE coconut)?

    • No, you really can’t taste it at all – just the chocolate. I’m going to try it next time using a bar of flavoured Lindt dark chocolate – like chilli or orange. You could probably add coconut extract though.

  8. Janet S says:

    We made the ice cream and chocolate sauce last night and put them atop brownies. Super delicious. Thanks for showing us how easy this sauce is in particular. Amazing!

  9. Love this SO much! I think we’re making it! Just featured it on my Sunday Spotlights! http://www.aturtleslifeforme.com/2012/04/sunday-spotlights-and-winner.html

  10. Kim Campbell says:

    Yum! Can’t wait to try this!! I’d like to invite you over to my link party, Sweet & Simple Sunday!

    http://cupsbykim.blogspot.com/2012/03/sweet-simple-sunday-3.html

    Hope to see you there!

  11. If you don’t have coconut oil can you use vegetable oil or any other kind?

  12. Charlene says:

    You are featured this week on Busy Monday at A Pinch of Joy! Hope you will stop by and grab a Featured Button. Can’t wait to see what other project you’ve been working on — hope you will link again soon!

  13. […] that hard chocolate ice cream sauce you used to get at Dairy Queen?  Lightly Crunchy has the […]

  14. This is great! Who knew it was such an easy recipe! Thanks for sharing at Scrumptious Sunday! This week’s party is open, if you haven’t already linked up 🙂
    http://iamaddictedtorecipes.blogspot.ca/p/link-party.html

  15. I am so trying this…YUMMM-O!!!

  16. homesteadsimple.com says:

    Omgoodness! NEVER again am I buying the store stuff! 🙂 Please come share this at our link party – “Home is Where the Heart is” Homesteading and Homemaking http://www.homesteadsimple.com/home-is-where-the-heart-is-link-it-up-wednesdays-2/
    Please feel free to link any other posts you’d like to share!

  17. I just made some of this yesterday. Great isn’t it? It does actually work with any oil, I used sunflower. Just make sure it’s a light tasting one, olive oil for example might be too heavy. Mine was 1 cup chopped chocolate and 2 tablespoons oil.

So, what do you think?