cheater’s triple chocolate bundt cake

This is my favourite quick and easy cheater’s chocolate cake. I am trying to use less packaged foods, but I still have some cake mixes in the cupboard and I need to use them up. Actually, if I were really to tell the truth, I keep some of these stocked for when I need an easy and impressive dessert. I originally found this recipe here, but have changed it enough over time that I am going to call it my own. It’s part of the cheater thing.

You can change this recipe up in lots of different ways. I’ve tried French vanilla cake mix, butterscotch pudding and chocolate chips, add more chips than the one cup it calls for, if you want. I’ve used it with butterscotch chips or peanut butter chips (really good with the chocolate cake). You can also substitute applesauce for some or all of the oil. If I use a vanilla or yellow cake mix, I add a teaspoon of vanilla – it helps give it a more “homemade” flavour. For the glaze, you can use any kind of liquid and icing sugar – I’ve used orange juice with icing sugar, I’ve even used Bailey’s and icing sugar.

Sometimes I feel guilty for cheating like this.

Triple Chocolate Bundt Cake

Ingredients

  • 1 package devil’s food cake mix (or chocolate)
  • 1 package instant chocolate pudding mix
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup warm coffee
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • coffee, cocoa and icing sugar, for glaze

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the cake and pudding mixes, sour cream, oil, eggs (beat them first) and coffee. Stir in the chocolate chips and pour batter into a well-greased 12 cup bundt pan.
  3. Bake for 50 to 55 minutes or until the top is springy to the touch and a wooden toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool cake in pan and invert onto a plate.
  4. Mix powdered sugar with cocoa and a little coffee to make a thick glaze and drizzle over the top of the cake while it’s still warm – that way it drips prettily down the sides.

Linking to The Delectable Home, Cozy Home Scenes, I’m Topsy Turvy, Not Just a Housewife, This Chick Cooks

Tagged , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “cheater’s triple chocolate bundt cake

  1. sj says:

    omgosh, an Irish Creme glaze?! That sounds amazing!

  2. You could also substitute the irish cream for the coffee in the cake. I’ve done that with a white or yellow cake mix. I had coworkers following me home after that one.

    It really takes very little effort on my part to look impressive, sometimes. I cultivate the aura of hard work, but really my motto is start slowly and taper off. I had a pillow with that embroidered on it..

  3. Anita says:

    That’s a beautiful cake, and looks so luscious!

  4. No need to feel guilty for “cheating”! I know a lot of people frown on cake mixes, something which I will never understand. it’s not like people refuse to eat them when they are baked do they? If it’s good, it shouldn’t matter if you threw all the dry ingredients yourself or if they came in a box. You are still technically baking it and making it your own with the added ingredients!

    Next time you serve it, just politely take the compliments and don’t tell your family and friends you got a little “help” along the way. Your cake looks very delish….I’d take a slice if I was with you!

    Thank you for sharing at my party this week!

  5. Yum! your cake looks delicious, I could eat a slice or two right now 🙂

  6. Lorraine says:

    Looks delicious! Nice stopping by to visit you and peruse some of your posts. Great place!

    Kindly, Lorraine

  7. Yum! My favorite cake is a similar pudding bundt recipe, but not one with COFFEE in it. I’m going to give it a try. Thanks for linking up!

  8. abby says:

    wicked wicked woman…i love the look of your cake and since I am trying to make the numbers on my scale get smaller…i wont steal your idea…as for the guilt…what for? Thanks for sharing your great blog.

So, what do you think?