breakfast bacon and cheddar mini-popovers

These are a very quick popover to make for breakfast or for kid’s lunchpails. I was the only one up early on Sunday morning, so I had these ready by the time the rest of the house had stumbled downstairs. It’s a standard Yorkshire pudding/popover recipe with added chopped bacon and cheddar cheese. You can also add in a few tablespoons of fresh chopped chives or green onion, but it was raining yesterday morning, so I stuck to the basics – I wasn’t venturing out in the rain in my pyjamas for green stuff. This is very quick to make, especially if you keep cooked and crumbled bacon in the freezer.

According to the original recipe that I’ve always used, the crumbled bacon and cheese is supposed to be sprinkled over the top – but I just fold it into the batter. I make mine in a mini-muffin tin, but you can make larger popovers in normal size muffin tins, just adjust the baking time.

Bacon Cheddar Mini-Popovers

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1-2 tbsp of green onion or chives (optional) or 1/2 – 1 tsp of garlic powder (optional)
  • 1/4 cup of shredded cheddar (sharp cheddar is nice)
  • 3-4 bacon strips, cooked and crumbled

Preheat oven to 400 F. Grease your muffin tins (I use a Misto oil sprayer filled with vegetable oil). This recipe made 24 mini-popovers, or should make 12 normal muffin size popovers.

Beat together the eggs, milk and oil. In a separate bowl, mix together flour, salt, cheese, bacon and any herbs or seasonings that you like (I used about 1/2 tsp garlic powder this time because I couldn’t get outside for green onion or chives). Mix dry ingredients into wet, but only until wet. Do not overmix.

Fill your greased and floured muffin tins 2/3 full of batter.Cook for ~15 minutes, or until browned for mini-popovers, and between 25-30 minutes for larger popovers.

** If you want sky-high popovers with lots of air pockets, sprinkle the toppings on top instead of into the batter. I like them incorporated. They are still light and have lots of air pockets, but will not have as much height as normal popovers.

Linked to A Pinch of Joy, Frugally Sustainable, A Delightlful Home, Simple Lives Thursday, Growing Home

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

32 thoughts on “breakfast bacon and cheddar mini-popovers

  1. A Ponytail Kind of Day says:

    I am going to have to make these, they look wonderful !

  2. jmgoyder says:

    Thank you for this wonderful recipe – I am gonna try it with Mingy.

  3. Sarah says:

    What a lucky household to have you up early enough to make these. They sound really good Heidi, and those pictures make me so hungry! I’ve never made popovers before, but I know I’d love them. Thanks for this!

  4. Those look really good, glad you are finally getting some rain.

  5. PJ Girl says:

    I’ve never made popovers…. but I’ll definitely give them a go now x They look lovely!

  6. thefoodery says:

    oooo, little bites of bacony-cheesy heaven!!!

  7. IdaBaker says:

    Putting the bacon and the cheese in the batter is definitely a good idea. I think I know what I’ll be making for breakfast this weekend!!

  8. Nurse Frugal says:

    Looks delicious and not too difficult. They would be perfect as part of a brunch 😉

  9. Anything is better with bacon, but when you add cheese? Perfection. Thanks for a winner.

  10. oceannah says:

    We LOVE popovers here! I’d never thought to put the bacon directly into them though 😉 Sounds like a keeper, thanks Heidi.
    *anna

  11. Another great recipe, Heidi! These look delicious but I’m not sure when I can turn my oven on….very hot here these days! I have a pop-over pan, too. Wedding gift that I love.

  12. Fen. says:

    Looks delish!

  13. these look great. I have a link party on Wednesdays, and I would love it if you would link this post. It is called Wednesdays Adorned From Above Link Party.
    http://www.adornedfromabove.com/2012/08/pink-honey-beeswax-lip-balm-and.html
    I hope to see you there. Have a great Day.
    Debi Bolocofsky
    Adorned From Above
    http://www.adornedfromabove.com

  14. mydearbakes says:

    This looks delicious.. hmmm.. yummy!! =)

  15. These look delicious and my boys are going to love them.

  16. How did I miss this post of deliciousness???? Too darn good, I can tell already.

  17. […] Breakfast Bacon and Cheese Popovers from Lightly Crunchy – Now that school has started I’m on the lookout for quick but healthy breakfasts , especially ones that I can make ahead and freeze. I really like that these include bacon and cheese for a little extra protein in the morning. Can’t wait to try them! […]

  18. […] meals all month and a few treats thrown in here and there. I wrote about spiced chocolate cookies, breakfast bacon and cheddar popovers, sun-dried tomato pesto and chocolate coconut […]

So, what do you think?