homemade lip balm – or how to get rid of the red mustache your kid gets from licking her lips

As you can see from the picture, my small squeaky kid licks her lips constantly. So much so, that she has a permanent red chapped mustache above her lip. We try reminding her constantly to stop licking, but it doesn’t seem to help much.

Coconut oil rubbed onto the chapped skin above her lip works really well to heal it quickly, but I want something that she can carry with her to school. It’s quickly coming up on the warm time of year here, so the coconut oil probably won’t stay solid if left in a warm pocket or bookbag. I looked at a few recipes on line, then “farmered” something to use what I have on hand and to make a small amount (most of the recipes out there are for a bulk batch – and I didn’t really want that much).

Homemade Lip Balm

  • 1 tbsp grated beeswax
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp honey
  • 5 drops peppermint essential oil

Melt the beeswax and coconut oil in a glass bowl in the microwave or using a double boiler. Add in the honey and essential oil, stirring constantly to ensure it is well mixed. Pour into containers and let sit until it has set.

I found 3 teeny little travel containers for $1 and this recipe divided perfectly into them. I still wouldn’t recommend leaving the containers out in the heat, but the beeswax helped harden the balm up nicely. The licky kid likes anything that smells like peppermint, so she is likely to apply it between licks.

This same recipe, if you leave out the peppermint oil, would be perfect for chapped baby cheeks in the winter time. I remember always slathering on some kind of store bought balm when the girls were babies – they constantly seemed to have chapped cheeks from the cold and the drooling.

Linking to Make it Yourself Monday, Frugally Sustainable, A Delightful Home

Tagged , , , ,

33 thoughts on “homemade lip balm – or how to get rid of the red mustache your kid gets from licking her lips

  1. you are certainly creative

  2. athriftymum says:

    This sounds great! I’ll have to try it one day.

  3. Kim says:

    Where did you find those containers? That’s exactly what I’m looking for!

    • Just in the dollar store – a set of 3/$1.

    • Melinda Osburn says:

      I found 1/4 Oz shallow round steel tin cans that are rust proof with lids to put lip balm in. I ordered them from Papermart.com They cost only 41 cents each. They are the prefect size to carry in small pockets.

  4. most -there I spelled it correctly this time

  5. Somer says:

    We are leading parallel lives. I made lip balm, soap and deodorant over the weekend. So fun and so much cheaper then buying the fancy stuff 😉

  6. Great idea, Heidi. Your description of the red ring made me laugh! Yes, I can relate….

  7. Thanks so much for this, I was purchasing a lip balm from the local whole foods store, then I found ingredients in it I didn’t want on my skin, but especially on my mouth. Finding something truly natural hasn’t been easy. I’ll be making this!

    • You’re welcome. It really is so easy. There are also lots and lots of variations out there that I discovered. Easy is best for me though. The only thing holding me off of making it before was the lack of beeswax – now that I have it, I’ll be making lots of things myself.

  8. Sarah says:

    Thank you for this! I’d love to try this. Soon 🙂

  9. Shira says:

    Awesome! Your posts are always so incredibly practical! These look so easy and useful.

  10. Wonderful post, and very timely because my own little one is definitely in need of a good lip balm! Thanks!
    anne

  11. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes says:

    This is really cool but I think I might end up accidentally putting it on pancakes….

  12. slowborg says:

    Excellent! My partner carries balm around everywhere and we had a catastrophe on the weekend when Bert’s Bees lip balm was nowhere to be found. Apparently nothing else is good enough and this recipe is easy and has essentially the same ingredients! I will be an amazing girlfriend for making this!
    I just need to source beeswax…

  13. GGirlGGreen says:

    This looks great! 🙂

  14. Margaret says:

    At what point in the recipe do you add the honey? You left that out!

  15. Thanks for this post, I am definitely going to make this!

    My daughter had an allergic reaction to my last lip balm from the Body Shop. Even now, if she smells it she starts to gag and feels nauseous.

    • I hope you like it then. You can leave out the peppermint oil altogether and you can play around with the amount of beeswax too. You can add a bit more to keep it harder. I wanted it soft enough that my daughter could get some on her finger to put on her lips, but in a tube it might need to be firmer, if you prefer tube lip balm.

  16. nancyc says:

    Thanks for posting this–I definitely want to try it out! All I need to do is get some beeswax!

  17. […] recycle. I have a small fascination with essential oils lately – see the Homemade Vapo-Rub, Lip Balm and Rosemary – Mint Body Wash and Shampoo. I also made Lemon Olive Oil Hand Gardener’s […]

So, what do you think?