hope and cookies

I’ve been tagged in a blog relay about hope by a fellow blogger, Somer at Good Clean Food to write on the subject of hope. I’ve been reading a Barbara Kingsolver novel, so I found a quote by her:

The very least you can do in your life is to figure out what you hope for. And the most you can do is live inside that hope. ~ Barbara Kingsolver

While I’m not certain I have figured out the whole of what I hope for, I know that I seem to have a running list of hopes throughout my day. There are, of course, overall hopes of continued good health for myself and my family and friends, but I am (as usual) an instant gratification kind of person and focused on the short-term. Today’s list (well, it will be yesterday’s list by the time I post it) –

  • I hope the small kid didn’t wear her good shoes in the barn again
  • I really hope that the tall kid’s hormonal freak-out this morning doesn’t happen again tomorrow
  • I hope I miraculously grow another half inch so that I can be taller than my 11-year-old
  • I hope it rains soon
  • I hope the cat hasn’t re-damaged his hip – he’s been walking with an even bigger hitch in his giddy-up this weekend
  • I hope there is something dessert-ish at home to eat

There wasn’t. The dessert-ish thing, that is. While I often entertain hope that the dad will feel like baking, he didn’t. So I decided to make some cookies.

Since we are on the subject of hope, let’s make them endorphin stimulating spiced chocolate cookies. Both chocolate and spicy foods stimulate endorphin production, which in turn just makes you happy. Who wouldn’t have hope when happily eating spicy chocolate cookies. These have a little heat to them – they remind me a little of my new favourite Lindt chocolate chili bar. The heat isn’t too intense, so if you like it hotter, up the cayenne pepper a bit.

Hope Cookies (Spiced Chocolate Cookies)

adapted from Savour Fare

  • 1  1/2 cups plus 1 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar

In a medium bowl combine the flour, spices, and cocoa powder.

In a separate bowl, beat together the butter and brown sugar until the  mixture is fluffy. Add honey and vanilla; beat until combined.

In a small bowl, dissolve baking soda in 1 1/2 teaspoons boiling water. Beat  half of flour mixture into butter mixture. Beat in baking soda mixture, then  remaining half of flour mixture. Add chocolate chips and refrigerate for about  30 minutes.

Pre-heat oven to 325 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (I use a silpat).  Roll  dough into 2-inch balls, roll dough balls in granulated sugar and place on  baking sheets.  Transfer to oven and bake until surfaces crack  slightly, about 18-20 minutes. They should be slightly crunchy outside (like me!), but soft in the middle.

And here I pass the baton on to a few bloggers to give their thoughts on hope in any form that they would like: Luanne at At The Homefront – because she has a wonderful way of grouping words together, Seasoned With Sarcasm – because I like her sense of humour and am interested to see what she would write about, and Sarah at Sarah’s Place, whose food and knitting always look so much better than mine.

Linked to Frugally Sustainable, Simple Lives Thursday, A Pinch of Joy

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

26 thoughts on “hope and cookies

  1. The cookies look so good and your topic “hope” is inspired. I hope for continued good health for me and my family, and my ability to learn something new every day.

  2. So, I was getting ready to tell you how much I liked the Kingsolver quote and your list of hopes for the immediate future and then came to the end and found out you want to find out my take on hope — I am complimented –wish I had not read yours–now I am really under pressure. Thanks for the compliment–after my awful Tuesday I need a wonderful Wednesday–and you are helping make it such.

  3. I feel very thankful for you nominating me to share my thoughts on hope. I hope I write something noteworthy!

  4. oceannah says:

    I love BK! Are you enjoying her self sufficient year? The cookies are looking very tasty….but I have to watch out for such tasty treats 😉
    *anna

  5. Sarah says:

    Me too! I hope I can write something hope-worthy. I am definitely full of hope, every day, all day….it’s all about hope. Thank you so much for tagging me, Heidi. I absolutely love the idea of this relay. It gives us time to concentrate on something other than our hectic lives (even those of us who are trying so hard to slow down).

    Cayenne? Ginger? Cinnamon? Honey? AND chocolate? Are you kidding me?? I have found heaven. These look and sound incredible and you can bet the house I’ll be making these for the next road trip – for the happiness and energy, right? Oh yes. 🙂

    Another terrific read…thank you!

    • My kids even loved these – not many made it to the completely cooled stage.

      I wondered about trying these with some whole wheat flour too, but didn’t want to screw up the first batch – next time I’ll try making it a little healthier.

      Thanks for the compliment, and hope you have fun with this (see what I did there with the hope thing?).

      • Sarah says:

        Ooooo, I have some whole wheat flour, I’ll give it a shot. With the cocoa and the other strong flavors I’m betting it will be a win. That’s a great idea! Thanks!

        LOL!!! I will definitely have fun with it!!!

        You’re a breath of fresh air Heidi…

  6. Somer says:

    Well done Heidi! Thank you for doing this! I hope you grow an inch taller too. It’s hard when our littles keep getting bigger! I’ve read the Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingslover, but need to read Animal Vegetable Miracle!

    We must be on the same wavelength. I made a chocolate mousse pie a couple of days ago spiced with cinnamon and cayenne. Now I’ve got to make your cookies, once I go to the store to get more cocoa powder 😉

    • Did I miss the recipe for spicy chocolate mousse pie? Or is my memory that bad.. I’ll have to go back and have a look. That sounds perfect.

      I haven’t read Animal Vegetable Mineral yet either – the library doesn’t have it in. I’ve read lots of her other books and once had a cat named Turtle, after one of her book characters. I guess I thought it was funny at the time.

      • Somer says:

        Love her!

        I didn’t post it a recipe, I only post 2 days a week and can’t always be bothered to photograph everything 😉 but here’s a rundown:

        1/2 can coconut milk, 1/2 block silken tofu, 3/4 C. dark chocolate chips, 1 T. cinnamon, dash or two of cayenne, 1/2 t. sea salt.

        Method: heat coconut milk in microwave for a minute or so. Pour into blender. Add chocolate chips. blend until melted. Add spices and tofu. Blend again. Pour into graham cracker pie crust (I did homemade) Refrigerate a few hours until set.

        SO EASY. SO GOOD. I promise you won’t taste the tofu. I took it to a party and no one could believe it was dairy free.

  7. […] I say hopeful, I mean that I hope this wrap continues to go as well as it has (knock on wood). And, Heidi over at Lightly Crunchy (you simply have to go visit her, she’s fabulous) has tagged me in the Hope 2012 relay, which […]

  8. Love this, Heidi! I hope it doesn’t rain on us this weekend while camping 🙂

  9. Lauren says:

    I love Barbara Kingsolver… and those cookies look amazing!

  10. I just HOPE I can get around to making some of these – they look absolutely delicious…

  11. yrppies says:

    LOVE Barbara Kingsolver, the first book I read by her was The Bean Trees. My all time favorite of hers and one of my favorites in general is The Poisonwood Bible, I even got my hubby to read it and he loved it. I have not read Animal Dreams, I will have to check it out. The cookies look delicious by the way.

  12. […] and vegetables with out meals all month and a few treats thrown in here and there. I wrote about spiced chocolate cookies, breakfast bacon and cheddar popovers, sun-dried tomato pesto and chocolate coconut […]

So, what do you think?