DIY pixelated photo art

viewed up close

I’ll start out by admitting that this is me copying something that I saw at the city cousin’s house. They have a beautiful poster sized pixelated photo of someone in their front hallway. From up close, it just looks like colourful art, but if you walk away from it you can see the photo take shape. I love it, so I decided to copy it myself.

First, I started with a google search – How to pixelate a photo using the Paint program that came with Windows (because I don’t have Photoshop) and found this on eHow. I picked two photos of the kids that are colourful and followed the directions. The results:

picture #1 before

picture #1 after

picture #2 before

picture #2 after

Then I took them to Wallyworld and had them printed as 11×14 sized prints. I could have printed them larger, but I don’t know where I would find a spot to hang them. As it is now, they are sitting on the mantle until I decide where they should live permanently.

I purchased some simple black frames and cut the photos to fit. And I’m done. Easy.

The kids really liked them. My mom was less than enthusiastic, but she’s always thought I was strange. The husband was diplomatic in his response, as always. I’m quite happy with them.

Linking to DIY Show Off, Cozy Home Scenes, The Trendy Treehouse, Seven Thirty Three, Mod Vintage Life. The ArtsyGirl Connection, Rad Crafter, At The Picket Fence, Too Much Time on My Hands, Bringing Beauty, Our Delightful Home, It’s So Very Cheri, The Peaceful Mom

Tagged , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “DIY pixelated photo art

  1. That’s so cool! I love the idea. I have never heard of it before but I think it’s very creative. Good for you for making it happen.

    • Thanks! I wish now that I’d made the pixels even bigger and made the photos poster sized. But I wouldn’t know where to put them if they were that large. They need to hang somewhere that you can stand back from it a bit after you’ve viewed it up close.

      • Yeah, because if it’s too close it is just a bunch of squares. I’m actually surprised at how much I like this with faces. I think it’d be cool with a landscape picture, too.

  2. It’s amazing how differently the pictures look up close vs. away. I can see why you need to hang them to be able to view them at a distance. That’s a very cool idea to put a new spin on a favorite photo. I know those will be a great conversation starter when guests come to your home, and not to mention you get to show off your cute kids! Thanks for sharing at my party.

  3. Four Sisters says:

    I love this idea – It’s so fun to bring unique pieces of art into the home! (and as long as you love it that’s all that matters!)

    Thanks for linking up at Beautify It Monday! We were thrilled to have such a great turn out for out first party! Features will go up on Saturday and we hope to see you back again on Monday for week 2!

So, what do you think?