Today – Sunday

SONY DSCOutside my window:

We’ve had 5 days of sunny and warm early autumn weather. It was a great weekend for the dad to be duck hunting at the cottage with family and the tall hormonal kid while the small squeaky kid had a friend over for a sleepover. It’s late afternoon, but it’s still warm. We’ve just been in the garden digging up some onions and potatoes and picking tomatoes, chard, cucumbers, lettuce, green peppers, hot peppers and zucchini. That’s not bad for a garden that looks like it’s packed it in for the year.

I am thinking:

That we should probably have sleepovers more often for the girls. They are better occupied when there are friends visiting, more likely to spend every waking hour outside running around and therefore not moping around saying that they are bored.

I am thankful:

For a quiet Sunday evening. We plan to eat dinner in the screened porch, clean up and find something to watch on tv.

 SONY DSC

In the kitchen:

There is a pan of tomatoes and vegetables roasting the the oven for one last batch of sauce. Yesterday’s pasta sauce is being transformed into tonight’s pasta e fagioli for dinner and there is a batch of apple butter in the crockpot. And if we are lucky, there might be leftover brownie cookies for dessert.

SONY DSCI am going:

To take another load of vegetables to work with me tomorrow. Last week I took 4 or 5 bushels of garden vegetables as well as a bushel of apples. Now I have people asking when I’m bringing more with me. It’s good to know it’s not wasted. I’ve even been given some resulting hot chili sauce and a jar of grape jelly as a thank you. That worked out nicely.

I am reading:

The Paper Garden by Molly Peacock. I rejoined a book club again this year and I hope the other choices are better than this one. I’m a few chapters in and don’t hold out much hope of the book ever picking up speed.

SONY DSCI am hoping:

That we have a good long autumn full of weather just like this. I don’t mind a little cool weather too, as long as the sunshine stays.

I am looking forward to:

Thanksgiving. I saw an advertisement in the paper for turkey already this week and I’m already thinking about turkey, stuffing and pumpkin pie.

A few plans for the rest of the week:

We are getting into the swing of school life again right now. This week we have school photos, hockey practice and a game, a horse riding lesson and hopefully not too much else.

29 thoughts on “Today – Sunday

  1. Jennifer says:

    Lovin’ those pumpkins. You are so kind to share your apples. 🙂

  2. Alia says:

    I just spent a few days in your neck of the woods. Well, I was in Toronto. That’s much closer to you than out west where I live the rest of the time! The weather was beautiful…lots of sunshine, but not so hot that my baby couldn’t sleep at night. Have a great week!

  3. Love this little look into your life–it is as if I am reliving 14 years ago when my kids were 8 and 13–

  4. I would imagine your friends at work appreciate your ‘labour of love’ in your garden of plenty. .. Hope you’re feeling okay Heidi… Diane

  5. shoes says:

    These posts of yours are so relaxing for me to read. There is such a gentle flow to the moments you share with us. It makes me want to curl up on your porch with one of those yummy looking brownie cookies (I had no idea there was such a thing as a cross between a brownie and a cookie!) and just be.

  6. Hi Heidi, you have portrayed such a gentle pace of life, that seems so far from the hectic craziness of a new spring. Autumn is such a lovely wind down season after the busyness of a productive summer. Enjoy it – you deserve it.
    Cheers Sarah : o )

  7. Our weather in NS has been excellent too, and I look forward to sunny and crisp days in October – and pumpkin pie!

  8. I love your pumpkins on your porch, I love the pew on your porch and I LOVE that you ate dinner on your porch! As I read your description of Sunday I was imagining the smell of home cooked fall goodness filling your home. What a great Sunday.

  9. If those cookies tasted half as good as they look I can imagine why you are mom of the year. 🙂 Glad you are feeling better. I am always surprised by how well your gardens produce, enough to feed your family and give away that much is amazing. Have you ever made a pumpkin pudding or mousse? I use tofu in mine but you could use milk or cream if you liked. It’s super easy to do and makes a great treat in the winter. I’d be happy to make the puddings if you share the pies? 🙂

    • I havent tried pumpking pudding or mousse – but it sounds like pie without the crust (the crusts were never my favourite parts anyway). I’ll have to look it up and see if I can find some recipes.

      • Crusts aren’t my favorite part, and not just because I can’t seem to make a decent one. 🙂 I’m sure you could probably make the pumpkin pie without the crust and spoon it into dessert bowls when serving. It should freeze well.

        • You know what, Lois? I made a pie from my grandmother once (my “always make crust from scratch” grandmother…) and used a Pillsbury dough crust. She said my pie was delicious. Either she couldn’t tell…or she was being polite. 🙂

          • Nice, my grandmother always knew when I tried a store bought crust. 😦 I finally gave up and started making pies with graham cracker crusts instead. She loved them and didn’t have her own to compare to them.

            • I burn pie crust so easily that I gave up making them years ago. Fortunately I married someone who likes to bake and make pie on occasion. 🙂

            • That is very fortunate. I would have thought with all your talent in the kitchen a pie crust would be simple. I can’t count the number of head shakes, eye rolls and very long sighs I received over the years. My grandmother used to comment that of all the things I could do why in the world couldn’t I do one of the simplest things there was. I don’t feel a pie crust is simple, I’d rather be under a car, at least that I can’t mess up.

            • I should add that while I never mastered pie crusts, I can make delicious homemade bread, without the bread maker. 🙂

            • Me too – though apparently I don’t make it enough, 🙂 Another thing we have in common.

  10. […] borrowed this from Living Crunchy, and hope you enjoy reading my version as much as I enjoy hers. Of course, hers is weekly. But she […]

  11. So, the bad thing about living in Missouri is that we seem to go from Summer to Winter. I’m not really sure what has happened to our Spring and Fall, but I’m jealous. Thanks for sharing the photos!

    • I’d miss fall if we skipped it – but there have been some years when summer just seemed to go right into winter here too. This year I’m enjoying the Indian Summer while it lasts (is that still politically correct to say?)

So, what do you think?

