Saturday

Outside my window:

It’s sunny and beautiful. It’s starting to get hot, so the horses are hiding out in the shade behind the barn. The dog is sleeping on the patio, having tired himself out barking at birds and falling leaves.

023

I am thinking:

We are mulling over whether to take the kids out to dinner and a movie or just go out to dinner and come home to pick out a movie. The current theatre picks don’t include a lot of choices that I want to expose my kids to – that includes the Smurfs and Jennifer Anniston wrapped around a stripper pole. At this point, the dad still sees his main job as a parent to be to keep the girls away from stripper poles.

I am thankful:

That the day has been peaceful so far. The girls have been to an equestrian show with their grandma, the dad and I spent some time in the garden, there has been some time spent in the barn practising hockey shots and we are all currently having a rest together in the den.

031

In the kitchen:

There is some roasted tomato and vegetable sauce cooling, waiting to be pureed. We picked a ton of tomatoes this morning and I used the ripest ones along with some zucchini, onions, carrots, garlic, green pepper and basil. I accidentally turned the oven a bit too high, giving them a bit of a char before I noticed, but the flavour is great, so we’re going to call this batch “fire roasted tomato sauce”. It’s all in the way you market it.

I am wearing:

Gardening clothes. My slightly dog chewed garden boots are sitting at the door waiting to be put away.

I am creating:

For today, just this blog post, some tomato sauce and hopefully a comfortable atmosphere to hang out in for the rest of the day.

I am going:

To go out for a family dinner and then decide on some form of entertainment for afterwards.

9460487

I am reading:

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, by Ransom Riggs. It was a case of buying a book based solely on it’s cover – and although it was not at all what I was expecting, it’s not bad. I received a Kobo for my birthday and this was the first book that I’ve downloaded onto it.

008

I am hoping:

That the work we did in the garden this morning attacking the weeds lasts for a while. This year will be known as the year the stinging nettles took over. Our garden flourishes despite our neglect. However, the fact that some of the weeds were nearly waist high was starting to cause guilt for both the dad and I, so after working ourselves up to it we set out with clippers, the shovel, and eventually, the lawn mower. Some progress was made. I think we may have defeated the Triffids for a week or two (has anyone under 40 even read The Day of the Triffids?).

I am looking forward to:

Popcorn and a movie later tonight – wherever that might be.

A few plans for the rest of the weekend:

Tomorrow I have plans to make some dill pickles to use up some of the cucumbers. I think we’ll make pizza and see if some friends would like to come and enjoy a campfire and some s’mores with us. However, I’m open to other options. Our best laid plans have a tendency to change hourly. I plan on enjoying the sun and some time outside.

13 thoughts on “Saturday

  1. Thanks for giving us a peek inside your weekend–have a good movie night–wish I lived close enough to enjoy pizza and s’mores with you.

  2. There is a movie in the works for Miss Peregrine, and a book sequel, too!

  3. Velva says:

    Everything is good in your world. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

    Velva

  4. simpleintn says:

    Heidi, your weekend sounds lovely. If you get time later today, can you please share your method/recipe for the tomato/veggie sauce. I have a boatload of them too, and am tired of simply canning tomatoes. I love your blog and look forward to it. Sincerely, Sam, from tennesseetransitions.wordpress.com

  5. karen123abc says:

    As you are tiring of this format, I am thinking of adapting (stealing) the idea for my blog! Seasonally, if not monthly…we’ll see. Anyway, I have enjoyed your posts.

  6. Your garden must be so full of good things… ‘Your work begins’… !! Diane

  7. And the saga of the tomatoes has begun 🙂 Pizza and s’mores sounds good, maybe I should invite a few people over and cook pizzas on a fire it would be a fun night. I too have been tacking the weeds. We have more nettles and burr bushes this year than normal as well, but what was taking over my gardens were creeping Charlie and Queens Anne Lace.

  8. souldipper says:

    Love the hominess, integrity, healthiness and marvelous parenting you model. Who cares the layout – just as long as your example is here! Many thanks.

So, what do you think?

