today (and a little bit of yesterday)

278

Outside my window:

It’s sunny and pleasantly cool and is supposed to stay a pleasant temperature for the rest of the weekend. The dad just mowed the lawn around the house, so it smells like fresh cut grass. The mama hummingbird is back at the hummingbird feeder, filling up on nectar. She’s chirping like an angry squirrel because she found another hummingbird at the feeder. We know we have at least three that feed here because we’ve seen three of them converge at once.

155

I am thinking:

The staycation at home instead of the trip to the island cottage has worked out pretty good so far. The girls had some friends over for a sleepover, they’ve been swimming at the lake twice, been taken out for ice cream cones, had a campfire with s’mores, played outside, slept in a tent (partially) and we’ve had a leisurely morning and breakfast.

I am thankful:

That the hyper giggles seem to have calmed down with the sleepover crowd. I think they are all tired.

248

In the kitchen:

We’ve made and consumed some donut muffins and pancakes already this morning. We have plans for pizza making later in the day. I think I’d like to try one with zucchini, swiss chard, grape tomatoes and basil. Maybe we could make small ones and grill them on the bbq.

I am wearing:

A tank top, short sleeved jean shirt and black cargo pants. I’m comfortable. No jewelry yet, but bright pink painted toes.

I am creating:

I’m still working on a pair of socks. I put it down partway through starting the heel, so I might have some unravelling to do to figure out where to start again.

I am going:

To a local ball diamond with the family this afternoon to watch our godson’s game, then we’re all coming back here for a rest and some pizza in between games.

I am reading:

Maya’s Notebook by Isabel Allende. I keep putting it down and getting involved in something else, but I’m almost done and should finish it up today. I just got another stack of books from the library and would like to start reading through them before their due date.

I am hoping:

To try out the new hammock at some point this weekend. Tomorrow looks promising for that.

I am looking forward to:

The baseball game and the company of friends.

250

I am learning:

That when your children beg to sleep out n the tent or in the porch, promising that they will stay there all night – they don’t really mean it. And someone will need to get up at some point in the night to tell the littlest ones to go back to sleep.

Around the house:

Not much going on there – we are on “vacation”. Though the grass is getting cut and I should maybe cut down a few trees weeds in the garden tomorrow.

A favorite quote for today:

“No one knows what’s next, but everybody does it.” ―  (George Carlin)

 One of my favorite things:

Donut muffins and coffee on a weekend morning.

SONY DSC

A few plans for the rest of the week:

We’ll probably do some more swimming, some reading and a nap or two, maybe another campfire. Then back to work on Monday, a birthday dinner (mine) at my mother’s house and hopefully a night out at the movies on Tuesday night.

18 thoughts on “today (and a little bit of yesterday)

  1. I particularly loved your 1st and last photos. They really capture a summer vacation. Put your feet up and relax and……..happy birthday.

  2. Happy birthday! That sounds like an excellent weekend to me.

  3. Sounds like you’re having a really nice time and just ‘going with the flow’…. Diane

  4. lvaletutto says:

    Happy birthday! Hope you get some time on the new hammock!

  5. Your staycation sounds wonderful. What are donut muffins?

  6. sounds like a lovely time–maybe better than actually going away and you don’t have to pack and unpack which is a bonus–love that you are using your blog as a kind of journal of your family life and sharing it with us

  7. Happy Birthday Heidi. What a lovely time you seem to be having. I can’t wait for summer so I can relax a little too. Take care of yourself.
    Cheers Sarah : o )

  8. Happy Birthday Heidi. This is a lovely post, delightful photos. Looks like a fun time was had by all.

  9. I see you decided to keep the heading of what you are wearing. 🙂 I traveled so much that now the idea of traveling is just tedious. I like staying put, never thought I’d say that as I always had a bit of a gypsy in me. Your girls look like they are enjoying the break. It’s a vacation, forget the chores and weeds for a couple of days.

    • The travelling part isnt much of an issue for us – the cottage is on an island that we can see from the house. It’s just a matter of packing the boat and going over. It can still be a bit tedious though with the packing. We did skip the weeding and enjoyed the break.

  10. chef mimi says:

    Wonderful! I’d love to do this, too!

  11. souldipper says:

    Hello from the Gulf Islands in Western Canada. I love your homey, healthy, earthy, creative and informative blog. Prairie born, I lived and worked in the London area for a number of years and always loved meandering the country roads so I could see beautiful old and older farm houses. Love the view of the family room – and especially the rocking horse on top of the hutch. Good to meet you, Heidi. (What little Canadian girl didn’t fall in love with that name?!)

So, what do you think?

