today

048

Outside my window:

It’s hot and humid and smoggy outside. We never get smog out here, but this is apparently due to forest fires in Northern Quebec or the eastern counties. It’s unpleasant. The kids have holed up inside and are doing indoor stuff – playing with toy horses, watching cartoons and playing games.

I am thinking:

That the house is a bit of a mess.

I am thankful:

For air conditioning.

046

In the kitchen:

My mom and I made 8 batches of freezer jam earlier this afternoon. That’s 20 jars for our house plus the ones that mom took away with her. I’ve still got 6 quarts of strawberries left to do something with. Or maybe we’ll just eat them over the next couple of days.

There is also a casserole that the tall kid took out of the freezer waiting to go into the oven for dinner tonight. It’s one that my father-in-law made earlier in the winter. He’ll probably be the topic of conversation during dinner. There are lots of stories to tell about him still.

I am wearing:

Nothing interesting – a red t-shirt to hide the strawberry stains and black pants.

I am creating:

Still nothing. There are unfinished projects that for the moment will wait until I feel like doing something with them.

I am going:

To have to clean out space in the freezer for the jam later tonight. I should really clean out both freezers anyway. It would be a nice cool job on a hot night.

I am reading:

Maya’s Notebook by Isabel Allende.

I am hoping:

That the dad will take the kids swimming after dinner tonight. One of the neighbours told me that there are lots of snakes at the lake this year because of the high water level, so until I’ve heard otherwise, I’m staying away.

I am looking forward to:

Strawberries for dessert.

I am learning:

That three whole days in to their summer vacation, my kids are easily bored. I need to come up with a list of chores to hand out.

051

Around the house:

The den is in disarray because the windows are being replaced (new windows were needed, but the window that the tall kid broke sped up the whole process). The work crew returns tomorrow to put the trim back in place.

A favorite quote for today:

“Are wild strawberries really wild? Will they scratch an adult, will they snap at a child? Should you pet them, or let them run free where they roam? Could they ever relax in a steam-heated home? Can they be trained to not growl at the guests? Will a litterbox work or would they make a mess? Can we make them a Cowberry, herding the cows, or maybe a Muleberry pulling the plows, or maybe a Huntberry chasing the grouse, or maybe a Watchberry guarding the house, and though they may curl up at your feet oh so sweetly can you ever feel that you trust them completely? Or should we make a pet out of something less scary, like the Domestic Prune or the Imported Cherry, Anyhow, you’ve been warned and I will not be blamed if your Wild Strawberries cannot be tamed.
―     Shel Silverstein

One of my favorite things:

Strawberries with Amaretto and vanilla ice cream.

A few plans for the rest of the week:

I work again tomorrow, then have Friday off. I’d like to go and visit my grandma, who is in town for a respite stay at the nursing home. There is also a family reunion this weekend that we’ll attend, weather permitting.

36 thoughts on “today

  1. Roar Sweetly says:

    The strawberry jam looks very impressive, did you grow the strawberries?

  2. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    OMG, I can just smell (and taste; ) those jars from here! Aren’t they just SO gorgeous? Like jewels aglow with their own inner light: )
    LOVE your leather wingback (so much character, eh?) AND Shel Silverstein (what a sense of humour!: )
    This muggy weather truly stinks!
    Hm,mm, now where’s that bottle of Amaretto?

    • 🙂 I’m happy to say that the jam set up perfectly and I was told it’s even better than last year’s, which I thought was pretty good.

      That leather chair is the one and only piece of furniture (aside from mattresses) that we purchased new – and it looks just as old as all the rest now..

  3. We have been eating our berries as fast as they ripen, at this rate I will be without berries again come winter. I adore Shel Silverstein his was the only poetry my boys ever enjoyed, and we have lots of wild strawberries her so that reminds me to pull out some of his books and see if the little ones are ready for his humor. We have been seeing more snakes here this year as well, I didn’t put it together that it might be from all the rain. Enjoy your casserole, I hope the conversations are humorous to accompany the meal.

  4. Your home is lovely and the jam is the perfect decor!

  5. Lynne Ayers says:

    I noticed the low cloud cover here today and thought perhaps cities were under a blanket of smog – but we’re not getting smoke – I don’t think there are any fires around here in the counties – my gawd how could there be with all the rain?! As to the house cleaning … I invited my sister to dinner so I’d finally get to some of the tidying and cleaning – got 5 days to get it done … I’ll need it ;( I enjoy some of our strawberries with lemon juice and sugar – tart and sweet (like me, my husband would say 😉 And I enjoyed the quote.

    • We had two impromptu dinners with friends and family this weekend – which meant I wasn’t able to get anything cleaned beforehand. Nobody noticed. I liked that.. However, once the windows are finished, there will be cleanup needed afterwards. Maybe I can talk the kids into it.

  6. Bobbie says:

    I really enjoy your emails. I get a glimpse of life from someone who is better off in some ways than I am, but in the same breath we are the same just very different worlds. I do hope you start to feel better soon. Thank you for giving me a look at a life I only dream of. Don’t feel sorry for me I have a good life just very different from your.

  7. Sarah says:

    This is wonderful. What a great post. The strawberry freezer jam is beautiful, and sounds so good right now. I love all the berries, but strawberries….yummmm! I should go pick some and make some freezer jam, ASAP. I made the perfect bread for it this week too.

    Your house doesn’t look messy to me! It looks great in the pics. I like what you said about writing these things down to remember them later? Do you mind if I copy you over at my blog? Maybe it will help organize my brain…

    I love these posts, this one and the slow living ones you do every month.

  8. My sister in law makes freezer strawberry jam too and we usually end up with some…It’s so good… ‘wild strawberries eh!’… I’ll never look at a strawberry in quite the same way again… Ha! Diane

  9. Sarah says:

    Thanks! Probably not for my brain either, but I should try? lol

  10. Fen. says:

    The jam looks so delicious!

  11. […] to Heidi, for letting me copy this format from her. I love these kinds of posts, the ones that let us peek into each others lives a little bit. And I […]

  12. I love impromptu parties and get togethers–then I do not get myself too stressed and go with the flow–when it is a formally invited get together I fuss and want to call the whole thing off–I love your slice of life posts–

  13. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Hey Heidi, We’re having technical issues here right now, otherwise I could send you Env. Canada’s animated version for North America (it’s ‘way cool: ) but will do later, if you’d like. Meanwhile, this (IR) satellite view shows the two main systems currently influencing Canadian weather…):

    • I just wish for a speedy end to the humidity.

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        Y’know, I caught myself saying the exact same thing on Thursday; then I realised that it was only a few weeks ago that I was wondering when the *bleep* summer was going to start…
        We get such a short window of opportunity for Summer up here (especially this year): that I’ve decided I’m just going to GRAB onto this time, go soak in the water to cool off and ENJOY it while I can – even if it is hotter than crap at night and the smog is almost thick enough to cut – ’cause you’re right, this can’t last forever, we won’t be sucking the heat up out of the States anymore… (but it also won’t be Summer anymore either; )
        Technicalities solved. Weird looking address, so hope this works. Here’s the animated link for North America: http://weather.gc.ca/satellite/animateweb_e.html?imagetype=satellite&imagename=goes_nam_1070_s_………………jpg&nbimages=1&clf=1
        And our “local” radar at Franktown: http://weather.gc.ca/radar/index_e.html?id=XF
        Both useful for knowing whether to fish (or cut hay; )

        • I suppose I should say that I’m enjoying the summer too, but I feel unwell with temperature spikes, especially humidity. Luckily, we are usually more moderate in temps, living right by the lake. I had to look up Franktown – not too far away, over in LLG. We’re in KFLA.

          • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

            LOL, took me a bit to figure that out, but I got it eventually. (We’re in HKPR: )

          • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

            I don’t do very well with humidity (or these wild temperature fluctuations we’ve been getting, more and more often, lately):
            Franktown Radar Station covers ALOT of territory: most of Durham Region to the west, north of Maniwaki Québec, east of Montréal, south of Ithaca NY… and, I’m guessing, you’re pretty much smack in the middle.

            • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

              Well, not really in the middle – that’s closer to Ottawa – (but you’re nearer than me, anyway; )

            • That makes more sense. I had thought you were to the west of us, not the east.

            • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

              Yeah well, I’ve always been a bit of a weather freak y’see; but it got alot more important when I started working with the bees… Anyway, being able to see what (may be) coming from hours away is really cool (definitely have ‘way more sympathy for weather forecasters these days; )

  14. A lovely post Heidi. Your strawberry freezer jam looks beautiful. The strawberry season over here in Brisbane has just started but I’ll wait until they become more plentiful in the markets and buy a tray to make this year’s strawberry jam.
    I found it interesting that you make freezer jam rather than jam to store in the pantry. Perhaps this means you need less sugar? I’ll have to google it.
    I know what you mean about humidity. Queensland gets very humid summers and it can be quite draining. Folk just slow down, not much happens here in January, the middle of our summer.

So, what do you think?

