the garden, part two

036

We now have most of the garden planted; the dad spent several hours each day over the long weekend getting as much in the ground as he could. And with any luck, the heavy downpours that we have had every day since hasn’t washed away all of the seed.

Fortunately he likes this part of gardening. The part where we slack off a bit is the fine art of maintenance. We’re not big on keeping it beautiful. At the beginning of the season we do a little hoeing and weeding, but we slack off rather quickly. The garden is planted far enough away and out of sight of visiting eyes that we don’t have to keep it beautiful. We plant in quantity and plant hoping to have good results, but really don’t do it out of love of gardening. We just like the food. We don’t have beautiful climbing spots for the cucumbers or cages for the tomatoes. We are definitely low maintenance gardeners.

Just to add to my list of seeds, I have a list of purchased seedlings for us to refer back to for next year’s effort. The dad planted 25 lbs of  red and white seed potatoes (Kenebec red and unknown white variety) and has saved 25 lbs more to plant later (to keep up a steady supply of small new potatoes). He also planted Dutch and multiplier onions and shallots. And then there are the others:

Tomatoes:

  • Beefsteak
  • Roma
  • San Marzano
  • Tiny Tim
  • Sweet 100 Cherry
  • Jet Star

Peppers:

  • California Green Pepper
  • Early Red Pepper
  • Yellow Belle
  • Long Slim Cayenne
  • Ring of Fire

Raspberries:

  • Tulamen
  • Boyne

001

Tagged , , ,

32 thoughts on “the garden, part two

  1. naimavanswol says:

    Looks great! I’m excited to see how it comes along.

  2. Miriam says:

    You sound like my kind of gardener 🙂 I don’t garden at all right now, but when I do it is more for utilitarian purposes than aesthetic appeal. I just like the idea of good food!

  3. Jennifer says:

    Oh, so exciting, Heidi! Can’t wait to see how it turns out. 🙂

  4. Heidi, I garden dir the taste of the food I get, but also because I love playing in dirt. I’m the person who will spend hours weeding just for something to do that is outdoors. I can’t count the number of times I headed out to get just a little done and get so lost that next thing I know I’ve spent the entire day pulling weeds.

    I can’t wait to read all your summer comments on your garden.

    • Thanks – hopefully it turns out ok – we’ve had a lot of hard rain this week that I hope didnt drown the seeds or rot the potatoes. I’m still somewhere on the learning curve for gardening.

      • I’m such a newbie myself. I am trying so many plants I never thought I would be able to grow, and my carrots are growing for the first time ever! We are getting rain now and temps are going back down. We are expecting frost tonight so my fingers are crossed.

        If you are a newbie, I want your green thumb😊

  5. Fen. says:

    that looks like a big garden!

    • Some of the area behind my husband is planted field. Im not sure what is planted there this year – wheat, maybe. The garden isn’t that whole area. I like to share with friends and neighbours, but I could feed the county with a garden that big.. Ours is somewhere around 1/2 acre in size.

  6. Cindy Helens says:

    Definitely a big garden with lots of veggies. Most probably you are excited as how they will go.

  7. The season is on and I love reading all about it.

  8. you are my kind of gardener- practical but still get the benefits without spending all day in the hot sun

  9. Your garden is ginormous!!! I am so jealous!!! Ours is only about 1400 square feet. I asked hubs to extend it but he ignored me. ;(
    I’m like you in the veggie gardening front – it looks lovely when we first plant the seedlings and the freshly tilled dirt is nice and weed free. But we don’t keep it looking like a magazine cover ready for much longer after that first initial weeding and planting. It’s meant to produce food for us, which it will do even if there are some weeds growing. We can see it when we sit on our deck or pull into our driveway, but it doesn’t look horrendous. It just doesn’t look quite as nice as our flower beds!
    Hubs has a little tiller that he likes to periodically run through the rows to grind up the crab grass and weeds that get through. I can’t wait to start getting some food from it! We plant ours this weekend, after this last day of potential frost.

  10. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    You’ve got San Marzanos? I’ve heard great things about them. So, have you grown them before and how do they taste? Have you ever tried Sweet Chelsea? They’re a larger cousin of the Sweet 100 (and totally awesome: ) Oh, and LOVIN’ the “Ring of Fire” reference, LOL!
    Can you believe this Spring? It turned nasty, cold and windy AGAIN last night):
    Good luck with your garden – it’s SO true – nothing tastes like home grown!

    • San Marzanos are new for us this year – but I usually bought San Marzano tomatoes when I bought canned and liked them better, so hopefully these work nicely for any canning/freezing that we do this year.

      And yes, it’s flipping cold again today. Hopefully the garden is ok. I saw sleet on my way to work this morning.

      I had to buy the peppers – who can resist a name like “Ring of Fire”? The small kid used to sing that while sitting in the bathroom (her slightly twisted parents might have taught her that one).

  11. […] Annie’s Cooking Lab Afternoon Popcorn Snack Elizabeth Thomas Photography From Swerve of Shore Lightly Crunchy We Call Him Yes! […]

  12. Lynne Ayers says:

    Kudos to you, with the mixed and varied spring we’re having it’s not known whether to plant, or keep under cover. I no longer put in food – but I should. Maybe I’ll intersperse some among the flower beds – ?

  13. Reading about your garden makes think about my father’s garden that I grew up with. It was an acre or more in size. He was the mastermind and planter, and my sisters and I were the weeders and pickers. (Actually, my father did a lot of this too.) The garden was out in the country and not at the house we lived in in town, so we would go there in the evenings after my father got home from work. We canned and froze most everything and had enough food for the following year and for all of the neighbors. I complained about the work at the time, but the food was great.

  14. i hope everything grows and thrives. gardens can be like presents.

  15. I love that you’re so honest Heidi…. You garden but it doesn’t mean you have to like all the work…or keep it nice looking… Obviously though you know what you’re doing if last year’s crop has anything to say … I see a lot of preparation, cooking and freezing in the coming months… I’m tired just thinking about it….and it’s you that has to do it lol….Diane

So, what do you think?

