butter tart mini-muffins

034

I had grand plans for a baking spree today until I realized that I have only 3 eggs in the house. Fortunately, the first thing on my list to make only required two, so these got made. The dad says that they are winners – they definitely get you right in the sweet tooth. Everyone loves butter tarts (especially me), but I am an absolute failure at pie crust. I even managed to fail that part of my Quantity Foods class in university. These taste like tarts, but without the pie crust. Perfect. Even I can’t fail.

There are only 6 ingredients and it takes just minutes to mix up. The batch I made this morning are already gone and the dad is requesting that I make them again. He is planting the garden this weekend without my help, so a trip into town to buy more eggs is the least that I can do. This started with a recipe for Pecan Pie Muffins, but a few changes morphed them into more of a butter tart muffin.

Butter Tart Mini-Muffins

  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2/3 cup butter, melted (but not hot, allow to cool after melting so it doesn’t cook the eggs when you mix them together)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Generously oil a mini muffin pan.

In a medium bowl, stir together brown sugar, flour and walnut pieces. In a separate bowl beat the eggs then add the vanilla and butter and whisk until smooth.

Stir into the dry ingredients just until combined. Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin cups. Cups should be about 2/3 full. Depending on the size of your muffin tins, this should make between 18 and 24 mini-muffins. If you are making larger muffins, you may need to adjust the cooking time.

Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 12 t0 15 minutes. They should be starting to brown around the edges, but remain a little soft on the inside (not uncooked, but a little softer than normal). Allow to sit in the muffin tin for a couple of minutes before attempting to remove. Cool on wire racks when done.

Linked to Wildcrafting Wednesday, Frugally Sustainable

Tagged , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “butter tart mini-muffins

  1. Those sound wonderful! I wonder if I can modify them to be gluten-free……..

  2. these sound wonderful — and with so few ingredients, could be something I would try

  3. Sounds so good. I understand why they were gone quickly.

  4. Sounds good and even I might be able to do them…. (I’d have to leave out the walnuts though as my husband doesn’t like them) …We only have regular size muffin pans (12) so instead of 12-15 min. would you say 18-20 min..?? I’m not good at guessing lol Diane

  5. Mmm, I can almost taste them. Glad to know I’m not the only one who can’t make a pie crust!

  6. Jennifer says:

    This would be perfect for breakfast, can’t wait to try them. They look so easy to make!

  7. just beautiful. i can almost taste them.

  8. These sound so simple and look so elegant! The flavors jump straight out of the pictures!

  9. Lynne Ayers says:

    You got me with the title on this one – I have a sweet tooth that requires regular doses of stuff I shouldn’t eat. Add these to my list.

  10. […] in balsamic vinegar and olive oil and grilling it on the barbecue. I also wrote about Butter Tart Mini-Muffins, which I made with great hopes of freezing some foe lunch pails, but they were all gone too […]

So, what do you think?

