grilled balsamic asparagus

001

We’ve been eating our weight in fresh asparagus for the past week thanks to neighbours who are harvesting more than they can eat themselves. This is our favourite way to prepare it (even the small squeaky kid admits that this is tasty – and nobody can argue that asparagus is exciting to kids).

This, a baked potato, steak and a big glass of wine just might help you get through the weekend when your husband thinks it’s a good idea to allow the children to invite 3 friends over for a sleepover. And then they spend 24 hours giggling, screaming and breaking the odd window.

Grilled Balsamic Asparagus

  • 1-2 lb fresh asparagus
  • balsamic vinegar
  • olive oil
  • kosher salt
  • fresh ground black pepper, to taste

Rinse and snap off the tough ends of the asparagus.

Place asparagus spears on a platter or cookie sheet, drizzle with balsamic vinegar and olive oil (a couple of tbsp of each or more, depending on the amount of asparagus). Sprinkle with salt and pepper and roll the asparagus around in it until well coated.

Heat grill to high heat and grill for a few minutes on each side or until asparagus is done.

Linked to Frugally Sustainable, Wildcrafting Wednesday

Tagged , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “grilled balsamic asparagus

  1. PJ says:

    Lucky you! I love asparagus and it’s even nicer when freshly picked. The crowns I planted last year are embarrassing… just 5 weedy spears that have popped up just to mock me!
    The grilled asparagus sounds terrific x

  2. sharechair says:

    Looks delicious! I make it in a similar way in a frying pan, but the grill would be much much better. Going to try it next week! Yum.

  3. I’ll try that. My neighbour has been bringing over fresh picked from his garden asparagus every night for the past 1.5 weeks.

  4. Looks so good. I never had it grilled as a kid and I didn’t like it, but I love it now and grilled is my favorite way.

  5. Mmmmmmmm, this looks fabulous! I love asparagus!

  6. That slumber party sounds like rough going. I think maybe I’d trade the asparagus for chocolate, though. And maybe two glasses of wine. 🙂

  7. I love asparagus so will be trying this…Diane

  8. love that idea of your husband’s–on Mother’s Day weekend no less–hope you got through it in one piece (unlike the occasional window)

  9. I love aspagus – I hope I see some here soon!

  10. I tried asparagus for the first time at the weekend and I am hooked….I love it. It’s taken me three years from planting the crowns to get to a stage where I can harvest it….thank goodness I did like it lol

  11. I love asparagus! I have some planted but I get a measly one or two at a time, that’s not enough for anything! Thanks Heidi for sharing on Wildcrafting Wednesday. 🙂

  12. i don’t have any in the garden but have been buying them at the farmers market and am probably eating 5 lbs a week before the season passes…lunch and dinner, grilled and steamed…

So, what do you think?

