the porch is open for business

porchporch2

We (I mean the dad) managed to get the floor in the porch put back together, knock the cobwebs off of everything, put the covers on the cushions and arrange the furniture in the porch in time to relax and eat dinner in it last night. I’ve spent many evenings eating dinner in that porch and many mornings drinking coffee, but always before as a guest in the house. This will be our first summer living here and I think this room will be the most used room during the warm months.

On the list of things to do this summer is repainting the porch and the furniture, making a few new cushion covers and re-screening the windows. That will come later though. Right now this will do just fine.

The temperature actually got above 20°C by the end of the day on Sunday. Just by opening the door into the porch while we ate our dinner, the house warmed up by 2 degrees. I’m so looking forward to the warm weather. The cat is too.

porch3

Tagged ,

32 thoughts on “the porch is open for business

  1. Fairy says:

    The porch looks lovely and I am sure it will continue to be the site of many more gatherings. The Dad did a great job.

  2. The porch looks beautiful Heidi.

  3. A lovely spot. I can imagine reading on the porch on warm summer evenings. Enjoy!

  4. that is where I would want to be

  5. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    WOW! It looks like you were porch “crashed” yesterday… Love this colour scheme, and how, even in the subdued light, everything works to be “Come on in and have a seat!” cheerful! What a truly wonderful transformation: )

    • Truthfully, it’s not really a transformation – it pretty much always looks like this when it’s summer and the furniture is set up. It’s comfy.

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        By “transformation”, I only meant from one day’s photo (still stripped down for winter) to the next (in it’s “all ready for summer” finery). I don’t know about you, but I assume that protecting your cushions in the “Battle of the Mice” is just as much of a struggle as it is here – the nasty little rodents): Kitty’s getting pretty old now and she never was a voracious mouser. Tell me, you’ve probably seen lots of different cats at the farm, right? Do you think males are better hunters? Someone told me that once and I’m still not convinced…
        Anyway, I hope there are tons of retold stories – many great memories of happier days – when you all get together – not just this week, but until it doesn’t hurt so much anymore.
        Hugs, Deb

        • I don’t think there have been barn cats here in years and years – there are no animals in the barn except the horses, so there is nothing around for cats to eat (that, and the packs of coyotes in the area seem to be a deterrent. I couldn’t tell you. Ours is a fixed male and is either too well fed or just plain lazy. He did manage to get a mouse once, but I think the mouse first leapt to it’s death and the cat grabbed it afterwards. Our female cats used to catch more mice.

          I did find some mystery holes in a few items. That, and the flooring needed to be pulled up because something had been tunnelling under it and made it partially collapse. Not a big fan of small furry creatures right now.

          • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

            OMG, the chipmunks have been doing the same thing under the interlock of our back deck, so right there with you on the rodent thing!! Let me know if you find a deterrent, will you?

  6. I have porch envy. Looks like a lovely place.

  7. What a beautiful space! Our cat is loving the warmer weather and open windows too. 🙂

  8. I think having a semi-outdoor space is the perfect thing. It’s lovely!

    • Thanks – I’m looking forward to getting lots of use out of it. We used to sit on our back deck at our other house, but were always getting chased inside by mosquitos. This will be a nice change from the massive blood losses of previous summers.

  9. Such an inviting space!

  10. Susan says:

    I’ve just been catching up on your posts. Nice idea to plant a tree in memory of your FIL. It will be part of the farm, just like him. Friends purchased a portion fn the Trans Canada Trail in memory of our in laws. They were outdoorsy people so it was very meaningful.
    “Porching” is a wonderful pastime. I know you will enjoy it this summer.

  11. Jennifer says:

    Beautiful! Summer here you come!!

  12. oceannah says:

    Heidi you are all set for Summer! I’ve been absent a lot but wanted also to convey my condolences to you and your family.
    *anna

  13. What a lovely space that is – and a sun-trap by the sound of it. Enjoy the making of the cushions etc and enjoy the warmth. We had some warmth today but nowhere near 20C yet! 🙂

  14. It’s beautiful Heidi… I know why you will spend a lot of time this summer there….Diane

  15. Janet S says:

    How very lovely!

  16. Somer says:

    Oh so cozy! I could imagine spending hours on end in there! Love it Heidi!

  17. PJ says:

    I’m hoping to have a new kitchen extension next year and whilst most people would dream of the perfect oven, worktops and cabinets my only wish is a porch!! So, my poor, exasperated husband is designing the kitchen around the “need” for a porch!
    Love you space Heidi and I hope it provides many hours of relaxation 🙂

  18. You have so many wonderful places to sit and enjoy life from in your home, from the kitchen to the wood stove, now your enclosed porch. If I could have one thing here it would be a covered porch. We don’t have many mosquitoes due to the large bat population but I hate having to move indoors when it rains. Your porch is gorgeous, looking forward to seeing it when you declare it finished.

  19. Lynne Ayers says:

    I’ve always loved porches – yours is beautiful. More porches make better neighbourhoods – people get out, and talk, and wave from the sidewalk. I could make a slogan out of that for city improvement – ?

So, what do you think?

