Today

Thankyou for the condolences that were left for our family. It was really nice to read through them all. It has been a week of adjustments for us.

SONY DSC

I haven’t been writing much lately, but would like to get back at it, so I am borrowing some prompts from A Simple Woman’s Daybook to get myself started again (though I don’t particularly like to think of myself as simple). I may use them once a week or just a couple of times a month, but it is a good way to get started with recording family life around here.

SONY DSC

the girl’s rock collection, neatly laid out on a stump, visible from the living room window (they may have inherited some slightly OCD-ish tendencies from me)

Outside my window:

It’s sunny and around 16°C, a friend’s son is helping rake out the gardens, the tall hormonal kid is cleaning the tack room, the small kid is getting ready to ride and the dad is ripping up part of the interlocking brick floor in the porch and (hopefully) fixing it.

I am thinking:

That I should be making my way into town soon to pick up some groceries for the week.

I am thankful:

For friends and neighbours. They’ve been very kind lately.

SONY DSC

In the kitchen:

There is a pot of soup bubbling away, made with leftover pork roast and fixings that neighbours brought to feed the entire family on Friday night. The neighbours stayed for dinner as well and we had a nice evening filled with food, wine and reminiscences of my father-in-law. There is leftover pasta for lunch – also kindly provided by friends (thanks Dr.s K&J).

I am wearing:

A t-shirt and fleece pants, but will change before I go into town. We have an agreement around here – my husband has promised to point out my lack of appropriate clothing if I should ever attempt to leave the house in sweat pants. So far, so good.

I am creating:

I’ve been knitting myself a sweater, but I haven’t picked it up in over a week.

SONY DSC

I am going:

To finish setting up the porch furniture once the dad is finished fixing the floor. It’s a great room and we’ve been looking forward to the weather warming up enough for us to use it.

I am wondering:

If we will have the house and grounds looking ok for all of the company that will be arriving next weekend for my father-in-law’s wake/Celebration of Life.

I am reading:

A Complicated Kindness by Miriam Toews.

I am hoping:

That there might be time for a nap this afternoon.

I am looking forward to:

Feeling like I know what I am doing in my new job. I’m not there yet.

I am learning:

A new job. I think I will really enjoy it.

Around the house:

I’ve ironed some linens in anticipation of company, changed beds, washed the cushions for the furniture in the porch and am making my way up Mount Laundrymore.

I am pondering:

Why nobody in the family will close doors/cupboard doors/drawers (or the garage door). I think they are trying to drive me insane.

A favorite quote for today:

Dust is just a country accent.  ~Author Unknown

One of my favorite things:

Some rose linen spray that my husband’s aunt gave me – it smells so pretty.

A few plans for the rest of the week:

Finish the laundry, plant the apple tree that friends gave us to plant in our father-in-law’s memory, get ready for a mid-week overnight guests and more again on the weekend. It will be another busy week, but after that life should settle down again into a spring and summer routine.

23 thoughts on “Today

  1. I don’t know why–but I love to read what you write–You make me feel very comfortable and homey–so glad you are going to be posting more often
    Good luck with all your company and I am still thinking of you and your family–wish I lived close enough to bring you some chili and buns or something

  2. love your quote about dust–am going to embroider it on a pillow–not that I have embroidered since I was 14 and in gr 9 home ec

  3. Velva says:

    Condolences to you and your family on the loss of your father-in-law.

  4. Welcom back; it sounds like you are getting into a groove with family life and the new job. But ironing linens? Honestly 🙂

  5. Yes you do have a busy week ahead… do make sure you get those ‘naps’ when you need them…as the M.S. does tend to flare up a little when not getting enough rest…Diane

  6. Fairy says:

    Heidi

    I love your writing style – it is gentle and comfortable and I feel it from the other side of the world. I look forward to your posts and feel better for having read them.

    You have a lot going on at the moment – both in reality and emotionally so be gentle on yourself.

    I picked and froze 3kg of cherry tomatoes yesterday – ready to make sauce when I have time. I think of you whenever I am up to my elbows in tomatoes – even though we are in opposite seasons.

    Best wishes for the next week with guests and FIL celebration.

  7. sharechair says:

    Your sunroom looks wonderful. I’d be in there all the time.

  8. Sounds like a busy week. Wishing you the best with your company and the memorial service.

  9. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Like everyone else, here on this side of your postings, homey is exactly the way your guests feel when graced with your presence and I’m absolutely positive it’s no different for those who visit in person: ) And btw, supervising is good (they should get you a director’s chair with your name on the back; ) Take care Heidi. hugs, Deb

  10. Somer says:

    Heidi, you are so talented, I feel like with every post I’m sitting in your living room chatting with you. I’m so sorry for the loss of your father-in-law. Mine is near the end with cancer and it breaks my heart. Much love to you and yours. -Somer

    • Thanks Somer – it is sad to lose someone who has had so much influence on all of our lives. I’m sorry to hear that your father-in-law is ill as well. It’s a new stage of life that we are entering..

  11. meghan says:

    It’s nice to read your posts again, and I love that quote ‘Dust is just a country accent’ I need that painted on one of those cute wood signs 😉 Since moving to the country I’ve realized why women used to cover all their furniture tops with doilies…to camouflage the dust!

So, what do you think?

