Christmas memories

christmas photo2

Every year I take a picture of the girls in Santa hats, just to see the changes that have happened each year. I have a photo frame on top of my piano with layers of Santa hat photos squished inside, the most recent always on top. I like opening it up each year and looking through the old photos as I layer on my latest photo. This is last year’s picture. It makes me smile every time I look at it.

Even better, my camera battery had died, so I had to leave them tied up and taped while I drove to my mom’s house (just a few houses away) to borrow her camera.

Tagged , , , , ,

41 thoughts on “Christmas memories

  1. jmgoyder says:

    Haha – are they untaped yet?

  2. I haven’t had a silent night in 8 years – this is incredibly tempting….for the entire household, cats included!

  3. you amaze me with your sense of humour–I am going to do a family picture with all but me taped–love this

  4. What a great idea! I love the idea of looking at last year’s picture as you unpack each year…and the “Silent Night” photo is hilarious!!

  5. What a great picture …..and caption;;;;Love it…Diane

  6. Kelly says:

    What a great picture! Do you mind if I “borrow” this idea for our Christmas card? I’m just itching for a chance to put tape over my four kids’ mouths!

  7. How sweet. Love their big blue eyes sharing back at you.

  8. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    LOL! Wonderful photo, great idea, hilariously just too cute! Even being left stuck together didn’t seem to dampen their spirits much – but fyi, all kidding aside – heads up out there girl (’cause with eyes like that, the boys don’t stand a chance; )

    Still laughing…

    • The hormonal years have already started with the first one. That’s enough of a challenge without adding boys into the mix. I may start drinking. I need pictures like this to remind me that they can be cute sometimes.

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        Oh yeah, I hear ya; you never know which kid {Jeckyll or Hyde} you’re going to be talking to from one second to the next! Moments like this are truly the only thing that keep you sane…
        (and you can never have too many ponies… Well, unless it’s time to muck out, that is πŸ˜€
        Sharing a spirit in spirit; )

  9. Ha ha! I fear they may bring that drive to Grandma’s up forever, though: “Do you remember the time you taped our mouths and drove to Gram’s? I do. I want a pony to compensate for my pain and suffering.”

  10. Sarah says:

    Hahahaha! That’s so funny and cute. Your girls are so adorable πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see this year’s picture!

  11. I love the photo! Makes a great holiday card!

  12. Ange says:

    I love this! I showed my kids this. They laughed too. πŸ™‚

  13. shoes says:

    Oh my gosh I could not stop laughing thinking about you leaving your kids tied and taped while going over to your mom’s house for camera batteries! Hahaha.

    I love the Santa hat through the years photo idea. It is such fun to see how much they change over the years.

  14. Love it!!! πŸ˜€
    I might just have to try that here too….

  15. Heidi you can always be counted on to make me laugh. I love the idea of taking a photo every year to remember how they grow. Do you always tie them up?

  16. […] but I feel overwhelmed by the holidays some days when I check my inbox.Β  So when I saw the title Christmas Memories, I almost skipped over it until I had more time tomorrow, but then I thought “It’s […]

  17. LOVE this post, it has really made me laugh. Oh, I would love to leave my hormonal teenage girls like this for a while as they never go more than an hour without some kind of strop lol….what bliss this would be!

  18. Heidi, this is brilliant! Is it ok to do this every day or do we have to wait until Christmas season? Thanks for the laugh!

So, what do you think?

