roasted pear and apple sauce

We are almost at the point of the year where we can say that our weekends are our own again. Right now our weekends are constantly getting sucked into the storage business vortex. Someone is always at the door, there are many vehicles to put away, nothing is getting done around the house.

There hasn’t been a lot of baking going on around here for the last few weeks, but I did manage to make this apple & pear sauce recipe that I saw on Sarah’s Yarnie Me blog. I liked it enough to make it a second time, but couldn’t find it the next time I went searching. It apparently got accidentally deleted when she was attempting to edit from her smart phone. That’s something that would normally happen to me. Well, except for the smart phone part. I love my iPad, but will probably never want to be on the phone enough to get a smart phone.

Luckily, Sarah emailed me the recipe so that I could make it again and share it here. I made it exactly as she had it written down, so I just cut and pasted her recipe exactly as she emailed it to me.

I still like the my easy no-peeling-or-coring-necessary apple sauce, but this is a little extra. It has a bit more flavour and would definitely impress, if you want to show off your applesauce to someone. I was curious about the roasting and if it would work out as good as roasting vegetables always does, and it does.

I even had a little extra that I put in the freezer and kept it until I wanted something to take in to work for a snack. It freezes nicely and tastes just as good after thawing.

Roasted Pear and Apple Sauce

Adapted from an Ina Garten recipe

Ingredients:

  • Zest and juice of 2 large navel oranges
  • Zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 3 pounds sweet red apples (8 apples)
  • 3 pounds ripe Bosc pears (7 pears)
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar, lightly packed
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees (F).

Place the zest and juice of the oranges and lemon in a nonreactive Dutch oven. Peel, quarter and core the apples and pears and toss them in the juice. Add the brown sugar, butter and cinnamon and cover the pot. Bake for 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 hours, until the apples and pears are tender. Mix with a whisk until the applesauce is smooth but still a little chunky. Depending on the ripeness of the fruit, the apples will likely fall apart and the pears will break up but stay chunky. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Enjoy!!!

Thankyou, Sarah.

Linked to Frugally Sustainable, Mind Body and Sole

Tagged , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “roasted pear and apple sauce

  1. Wouldn’t you know it, I just came home from the store. Wish I had bought some pears I really want to make this. Maybe I’ll head there when I return this weekend.

  2. Kerry says:

    Yum!! Looks delish.

  3. sounds great ~ i’m in ‘canning’ mode so maybe this would be a good idea to put on the to-do list

  4. Sarah says:

    Oh! Thanks for posting this where I can’t accidentally delete it! I’m going to make some more of this tomorrow, and since your blog has its own little icon on my iPad screen, this is so handy.

    Your pear apple sauce is gorgeous! Ina would be so proud. It’s so much prettier than mine. I must try harder tomorrow 🙂 And I love the “Polaroid” pictures up there, that is very cool.

    (P.S. Please don’t tell Hubby I hardly ever talk on my smartphone, he might make me get rid of it. Which might be a plus for blog post editing, now that I think about it).

    Happy weekend Heidi! And thanks for the shout out!

  5. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Ooo, what an interesting flavour combination… Sounds (and looks; ) delicious, thanks for sharing!!

  6. naimavanswol says:

    YUM! i made apple sauce, for the first time recently and it was out of sight! i didn’t blog it, but i caint wait to do it again.

  7. Somer says:

    Oh my goodness. No wonder you made it twice. I think I need to get some pears….NOW! 🙂

  8. […] We are well into winter eating habits now. Meat and potatoes make an appearance regularly at the table. Last night was our yearly dinner party with friends and we enjoyed a prime rib dinner with potatoes and peas from the garden. The girls have said that they prefer our garden grown potatoes and won’t like when we have to switch back to grocery store vegetables. I didn’t write about much food this month, but I did post about some roasted apple and pear sauce. […]

So, what do you think?

