oven roasting red peppers

Continuing on the theme of using up garden produce while it’s ready, I wanted to try roasting some red peppers and jalapenos to use on sandwiches and for pizza toppings. I hadn’t tried it before, but it turned out to be relatively easy and extremely tasty. I was roasting these just before I started dinner and a few of them went straight onto our plates. It turns out they go very well with bangers and mash and green beans.

There seem to be many different ways to roast peppers – over an open flame, on the bbq, broiled in the oven or roasted in the oven. Since I’m lazy and a little absent-minded, I chose the roasting in the oven method. Me and open flames and broilers are a recipe for disaster. I’d get distracted by something shiny and before you know it the smoke alarm would be screaming. My husband says the smoke alarm should not be used as a kitchen timer.

Most people seem to roast their peppers whole, turning them during the roasting process, but I cut them in half and seeded them before putting them on the roasting pan. It’s got to be a lot easier to do it at this stage than it is when they are wet and slippery. You’ll see in the picture that I also tried roasting some jalapenos, thinking that it would mellow them somewhat (mine are blisteringly hot this year – possibly because of the drought in the early summer?). I was wrong. I took one teeny bite of the roasted red japapeno and did the snoopy dance around the kitchen, drank a gallon of milk and finally stuffed a frozen doughnut in my mouth, hoping for relief. It’s still burning. I officially declare our jalapenos Greg Kelly hot (Greg is a friend of ours that likes the hot sauce that they use on fencerows in Thailand to keep the elephants out – or so the story goes). I didn’t keep those ones. Our jalapenos are best suited for the hot sauce I made last week, and even then in small doses (though it is very good).

These will keep in the fridge for a week or two, but the chances of them lasting that long are slim. I’m going to keep making these and will store them (sliced into strips) in the freezer for future pizza nights.

Oven Roasted Red Peppers

  • red peppers
  • olive oil
  • foil wrap or a silpat
  • bowl and plastic wrap to cover (or you could just use a baggie)

Heat oven to 450F. Cut the peppers in half and seed them, then arrange on a cookie sheet lined with foil or a silpat (this will make peeling them up afterwards much easier). Lightly spray with a mister filled with olive oil – this step isn’t absolutely necessary, but I read that it makes peeling the skins off later much easier. Roast until skins blister and blacken – mine took about ½ hour.

Remove them from the oven and put them in a bowl covered in plastic wrap and allow to sit for 15-20 minutes. They will steam and continue to cook for a bit. Peel the skins off with your fingers while the peppers are still slightly warm (it’s easier, and less gross than dealing with cold slimy peppers).

Linked to Frugally Sustainable, Growing Home, White Wolf Summit Farmgirl, Mind, Body and Sole, A Delightful Home, GNOWFGLINS, Foy Update

Tagged , , , , ,

35 thoughts on “oven roasting red peppers

  1. Roar Sweetly says:

    It really is amazing what happens to the flavour of a humble vegetable when it’s roasted.

  2. you are seriously entertaining – I too used to use the smoke alarm as a timer! I love your blog posts–humour and knowledge – a good combo

  3. Barbara Good says:

    You really have a way with word Heidi, this one was laugh out loud. Good thing it’s just me here tonight, both girls asleep and Mr Good out. He often wonders what on earth I’m doing as I cackle from behind the laptop.

  4. This is great. I added some garlic to mine, too. And I sliced them first to use in recipes and did not peel them at all. Also roasted them for several hours at a low temperature… then your whole house smells marvelous all day!

  5. The Snoopy Dance? Hmmmm, don’ t know that one. Must learn it. You are too funny! C.

  6. First of all, your blog has been my go-to-spot for recipes this summer! Thank you! Secondly, you make me laugh and I appreciate that more than the recipes. I can definitely relate to being distracted by “something shiny”. Oh, but your husband admonishing you that the smoke detector is not to used as a kitchen timer. Too hilarious!

  7. Haha, I was waiting to tell you that roasting them whole, then sweating them in a plastic bag until they’re cool enough to handle is the way to go… but you got the sweating part. 😉

    Sucking on a small piece of chocolate or a bit of honey will put out the fire in your mouth.

  8. Somer says:

    Ha! The snoopy dance again! That’s crazy about your jalapenos!

    I LOVE your methods Heidi, I seriously learn something new almost every time you post. And I fully intend to oven roast an abundance of anaheims and green peppers that I got from my co-op! And yes, I will cut them in half first too. Brilliant.

  9. Somer says:

    p.s. I broke up with Good Clean Food and got my own gig.

    http://www.vedgedout.com

  10. You and your husband seem to complement each other well in the humor department.:-) Smoke alarm as a timer? My smoke alarms would go off long before the food was ready. My children love pepperoni balls, I refuse to deep fry them and bake them instead. When I would make them I usually had orders for several dozen at a time. The dang smoke alarm would go off after the first couple of trays went in. I had to pull the battery before I started to save my sanity.

  11. These look so good, Heidi. We love to roast red peppers – they’re good in everything. I don’t usually roast peppers other than red ones so I’ll gave that a try. Thanks for the idea!

  12. Thanks for the info. I always want to try these, but never seem too get around to it. Will definitely do so this year. 🙂

    livininthegreen.blogspot.com

  13. Thanks for sharing! I love roasted peppers. Might have to try this after a run to Costco.

  14. This is the same technique that I use, even right down to cutting them in half and seeding them before roasting. The flavour of roasted red peppers is amazing. Did you freeze any?

  15. Lauren says:

    Oh, I love, love, love roasted peppers. I’m not much for raw sweet peppers, but roast them, and it’s my kind of thing. I either broil them or use an open flame though — so much faster!

  16. Heather says:

    Those look delicious!!! Unfortunately my pepper plants have been an utter failure this year. But this gives me a reason to try again next year!

  17. Subtlekate says:

    I love the glossy look of these.

  18. The snoopy dance! hehehe
    I am salivating over your oven roasted peppers….

  19. Love your posts for so many reasons! Have you considered a web cam in your kitchen beaming straight to You-tube? I’d love to have seen the snoopy dance too! I assume you got to eat soem of the roast peppers sometime?? – Kara x

  20. When you get your sourdough started you can make a delicious pizza crust to hold those bad boys! Looks so so so good.

  21. […] want to do something with it. We’ve also made fermented jalapeno hot sauce, hot pepper jelly, roasted red peppers and caramelized onions that we put in the […]

So, what do you think?

