chocolate coconut butter (spread that tastes like a mounds bar)

This started as an experiment to see if I could make something nut-free but similar to Nutella that the small squeaky kid would eat. Our schools have a nut-free lunch policy, which makes it challenging when your kid only likes peanut butter or Nutella. In this case, we will have to keep searching, because she’s decided that she does not like coconut. I can’t blame her there – I hated coconut when I was little too.

I, however, like this very much. What’s not to like? It tastes like a melted Mounds bar. I’ve had it on toast, graham crackers and on one of the scones my mom so nicely baked me for my birthday last week. I don’t mind hoarding the jar to myself. As long as I can keep it’s existance secret from the dad, that is. It would also be great melted slightly and poured on ice cream. I’ll get around to that soon.

It’s really simple – all that you need is flaked, unsweetened coconut and some good quality chocolate. I’d recommend the bigg-ish size bar for maximum chocolate.

Chocolate Coconut Butter

  • 2 cups of shredded, unsweetened coconut
  • 1 large bar of chocolate (I used milk chocolate, but dark chocolate would be really good)

Put the coconut and chocolate (broken into pieces) into a food processor and process on high until it becomes smooth and runny. It will take quite a while – it goes first through a thick messy congealed phase and then becomes liquidy. You’ll probably need to scrape down the sides once or twice during the process. Mine took around 7 minutes or so to get to the liquid stage. When it’s done, scrape it into a jar and allow to set. It will firm up at room temperature eventually (unless it’s really hot in the house) or you can put it in the fridge to firm up quickly. It’s not supposed to require refrigeration to keep, so you can keep it in the cupboard.

Linked to A Pinch of Joy, Frugally Sustainable, GNOWFGLINS, White Wolf Summit Farmgirl, Gastronomical Sovereignty, Live Renewed, Foy Update

Tagged , ,

41 thoughts on “chocolate coconut butter (spread that tastes like a mounds bar)

  1. Subtlekate says:

    I don’t know what a mounds bar is, but it looks delicious.

  2. Mounds and Almond Joy…. my 2 faves! Would love to try this with a “bigg-ish” chocolate bar! LOL

  3. Jennifer says:

    OMG! This is so perfect. I just bought some shredded, unsweetened coconut last week with absolutely no plans of what to do with it. AND my man doesn’t like coconut so I could hoard my jar too! Now just to get the chocolate…..I think I’m going to shoot for the dark. To make it even more like Mounds. You’re such a genius.

  4. Sarah says:

    This looks to die for!! I love it!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. seasonedwithsarcasm says:

    Um, would it be wrong of me to say I love you? Lol I LOVE mounds bars, and pretty much anything coconut. Will def me whipping up some of this soon!

  6. what a great idea, I am going to have to make this !! Mounds and almond joys are my fav !!

  7. I love this idea. I noticed you used Lindt chocolate, my personal favorite after a symphony bar. I’m going to give this a try it looks too good to pass up, thank you

  8. amberwideman says:

    This sounds absolutely delicious! I will definitely have to give it a try…thanks for sharing!

  9. I have to hide things from the dad at my house- he forages at night.

  10. This sounds great! I’m not sure I could successfully hoard it, so I’m going to remember this idea for a gift for my nearly impossible to get for husband. It would score really big points with him if made with dark chocolate. Of course I’ll have to make a double batch in that case! Has your daughter tried sunflower seed butter?

  11. momoftwosalums says:

    Yummy! I love mounds!!

  12. What a decadent, lovely idea. Unfortunately I can’t keep things like that in my house. I would eat the whole jar using a spatula in one evening.

  13. Tamara says:

    Ok. You win. I’ll be trying this…. ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. df says:

    When my 14-year-old finds out about this, I think the Nutella will be a thing of the past. He’s a coconut fiend, and well, chocolate – what more is there to say? Thanks for sharing your creative inspiration!

  15. Chaya says:

    I must make this. It sounds yummy.

  16. You’ve done mankind a service greater than sliced bread. Thank you.

  17. Have you heard of a spread called Biscoff Spread? It’s made from Biscoff cookies–no nuts, so great for people with nut allergies. I discuss it on my blog today, your daughter might love it! BTW I will be trying your choc-coconut invention–looks yummy.

  18. ang says:

    Hello! Stopping by from Busy Monday. I can’t wait to try this – looks AMAZING!! (Pinning for later!)

  19. Somer says:

    I made coconut butter a few weeks ago and wasn’t in love with it. See, all I need to do now to save it is add chocolate, nice save! I can all ready tell it’s all gonna be okay!

    Thanks!

  20. arzea says:

    Wow! This looks like something my son would go gaga over!

  21. This is dangerous! I’d eat the entire thing. And, the Biscoff spread is so good – again dangerous. It’s hard to stop!

  22. oceannah says:

    Heidi, I actually think I would like this way better than nutella…which is a bit too sweet to my taste. GREAT idea!!! I’m thinking of a sprinkle of crushed almonds on top and you could do mounds/almond joy ๐Ÿ™‚ You are a *Genius* but it’ll be hard on the waistline…better only mix up a small batch ๐Ÿ˜‰

  23. Can’t wait to try this!!! I might try it with dark chocolate (lindt of course, I am Swiss after all). Mounds, Almond Joy, and in Switzerland they were called ‘bounty’ for some reason ๐Ÿ™‚

  24. Should have checked out your blog earlier, we could have made these to occupy our time during the hurricane. I agree, they don’t look like they’d agree with my waistline. ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. Alahnna says:

    Oh my, this is fantastic!

  26. […] We’ve been eating fresh fruits and vegetables with out meals all month and a few treats thrown in here and there.ย I wrote about spiced chocolate cookies, breakfast bacon and cheddar popovers,ย sun-dried tomato pestoย and chocolate coconut butter. […]

So, what do you think?

