opaque memory

Just at that point of the evening when I was banging my head against the table in despair of my children ever having an ounce of common sense and wondering when their brains would finally start to develop (they were extra-special tired and discombobulated from being at riding school/camp all day), the small squeaky kid came out with this:

“I’m going to give Dylan a new name for competitions.”

(Dylan is her pony)

“I’m going to call him Opaque Memory.”

Why would you call him that?

“Because he’s an old show pony that has forgotten a lot of things. We just need to remind him how to do them again.”

Or something to that effect. I think she used bigger words.

Good grief. My kid is going to be smarter than me before she turns 10. I had to look up how to spell opaque.

Linked to White Wolf Summit Farmgirl

Tagged , ,

30 thoughts on “opaque memory

  1. Your little one sounds so sweet.

  2. kids come up with the most amazing things – especially when we don’t expect it

  3. DawnJoy says:

    I love smart kids. Brilliant. (did I spell that right?)

  4. oceannah says:

    Oh Heidi, that is funny! I know what you mean though…I had to stop teaching math by fourth grade here 🙂 I think these kids have grown very healthy brains b/c of all that awesome food we feed ’em….

  5. I love it, and I thought duck school was funny.

  6. I love the things kids say. Sometimes they shock you with their understanding, and turn around and do something that makes you pound your head on a table. Ain’t kids great?!

  7. dockfam says:

    They never fail to surprise us!!

  8. Don’t kids just think of and say the best things! Yours sounds like a gem!

    You have used one of my favourite words today – discombobulated. Thank you! 🙂

  9. Sarah says:

    Fabulous!! What a cute story, and I love “opaque memory”!! Kids are the best….i should’a had one or two 🙂

  10. Subtlekate says:

    That is fantastic. I love her reasoning and expression.

  11. PJ Girl says:

    Fantastic… you may need a bigger dictionary for when she’s older!

  12. An insightful comment from the small squeaky one. How precious they are.

  13. Lynne Ayers says:

    Very insightful of the small squeaky one. And I love it for a memoir – kind of goes with a quote from Mark Twain that I like: I don’t believe these details are right but I don’t give a rap. They will do as well as the facts. I, in fact, I am indeed putting a book of stories together – ask squeaky if I can use her line. I really like it. 🙂

  14. Haha – fantastic! I think I have an opaque memory too – at least that’s what it will be called from now on – better that calling it a senior moment!!

So, what do you think?

