tomatopalooza continues – roasted tomato and garden vegetable sauce

If you can stand one more tomato post, this sauce is pretty awesome. It’s also easy, which makes it an instant favourite for me. I’ve been making large batches of this and storing it in 3-4 cup servings in baggies in the freezer.

All you need is a pile of ripe tomatoes, a few onions, some garlic, basil and whatever vegetables you can pull from the garden that would taste good in a sauce. I used green pepper, zucchini and carrots (which add a bit of natural sweetness after it has been roasted). In one pan I also added a jalapeno pepper – just one mind you – and I had to label that batch “spicy” before it went in the freezer. Apparently the drought in the earlier part of the summer has made them particularly hot this year. And I mean really hot. My hands burned all night and again all day today after chopping some for the freezer yesterday.

You might also want a G&T or two, if you have already been chopping, slicing and dicing in the kitchen all day. Make them doubles, you probably deserve it. But wait until after you put the knife down. And the camera. Notice the slightly crooked picture above?

Roasted Tomato and Garden Vegetable Sauce

  • a whole pile of tomatoes
  • onions (about 2 per roasting pan), quartered
  • zucchini (I added 2 small ones, chopped in large pieces)
  • 5-6 garlic cloves per roasting pan
  • carrots (1-2 large carrots per roasting pan)
  • basil (a handful)
  • salt and pepper
  • balsamic vinegar
  • olive oil

Preheat oven to 400F. Wash, core and quarter tomatoes and add to roasting pan along with the other vegetables. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and drizzle with generous amounts of balsamic and olive oil. Roast for 1 – 1 1/2 hours, or until it looks done. You can fit more than one pan at a time in the oven, just rotate them once during baking time to make sure they all cook evenly. Once done, allow it to cool, then transfer the contents (liquid and all) to a food processor and puree until smooth.

I can’t make any promises, but I hope to get away from the subject of tomatoes for a while. Hopefully I’ll find a new distraction.

Linked to Frugally Sustainable, Gastronomical Sovereignty, Live Renewed, GNOWFGLINS, White Wolf Summit Farmgirl, A Pinch of Joy, Growing Home, An Oregon Cottage

Tagged , , , ,

61 thoughts on “tomatopalooza continues – roasted tomato and garden vegetable sauce

  1. oceannah says:

    hahaha had to laugh at the G&T while sitting here drinking my coffee 😉 Easy? I like easy…tomatoes finally arriving in buckets here!

  2. arzea says:

    That pan of veggies looks sooo yummy. I am going to try this!

  3. I think g & t gives you a fresh perspective – ha, ha

  4. The slightly crooked picture was done intentionally, right? I mean, it gives your post a certain quirky look that I just love! Going to try this recipe…. have been roasting tomatoes all week. Time for something new.

  5. That looks delicious. I was out in the garden yesterday helping a neighbor go through her plants, unfortunately her tomatoes are rotting long before they turn red or even grow beyond the size of a cherry tomato, so there doesn’t appear to be any tomatoes here this year.

  6. I have never grown tomatoes because I don’t like them raw; and for some reason it never occurred to me to dry, cook or preserve them. Duh, me!

    • We like them raw, but most of them end up made into sauces in the freezer. Hopefully we’ll have enough after all of this work to get us through the winter. There are a few more weekends worth of work with them yet.

  7. Somer says:

    Bring it ON! I am loving tomatopalooza! Your sauce looks so divine Heidi! I can’t wait to make some and freeze batches.

    I had a bad experience with jalapeno once where I accidentally rubbed my nose and eye after making a huge batch of salsa, my hands also burned that day. I’ve worn gloves since when I cut them. If you run into trouble again and don’t cut them with gloves on, coconut oil or olive oil rubbed on the hands should relieve some of the heat!

  8. This looks great! Did you can it or freeze it? You definitely deserve a drink after all the veggies you’ve been processing.

  9. Thank you Heidi for another great recipe. I still have lots of ripe tomatoes left and still some green ones on the vine for next week. BTW – I tried your pesto sauce. Everything you write about is easy and delish.

  10. Jennifer says:

    I love your tomato posts! They inspire me. Mine didn’t do so well in this heat so it makes my heart happy to know they’re running out your ears. That’s what I was hoping for!! 🙂

  11. OK my first batch of this is in the oven. But I have to wonder about a recipe that lists the first ingredient as “a whole pile of tomatoes” LOL

    • Can’t imagine why. 🙂 I have no idea how many I used. I just kept cutting them up until they were all gone. I had 4 pans full in the end and the past two pans I filled over-full. It all cooks down in the end.

  12. Heidi, this is what I do with tomatoes – roast, make sauce and freeze. I love the idea of carrots and hadn’t thought to add them. Thanks! Great tip.

  13. Lauren says:

    Yum! I love this take on a simple tomato sauce. And G&T… yep, that would make it more fun!

  14. […] Roasted Tomato and Garden Vegetable Sauce ©Recipe by Heidi @ lightlycrunchy.wordpress blog. Roasted tomato and garden vegetable sauce: This sauce is pretty awesome. It’s also easy, which makes it an instant favorite. […]

  15. A Table in the Sun says:

    Oven roasting brings such a depth of flavor to vegetables. Nice!

  16. Katie says:

    This sounds wonderful. I never would have thought to oven roast everything first. We just bought tomatoes and a TON of gorgeous fresh basil at the farmer’s market and now I can put them to good use! Thank you!

  17. […] 7 bags of roasted tomato and garden vegetable sauce […]

  18. Sarah says:

    Mmmmmmm, yummy! Thank you for this Heidi!! You are single-handedly solving my surplus tomato problem 🙂

  19. Looks amazing. I can’t wait for my summer tomatoes.

  20. roasted anything is a good idea 🙂 love it 🙂

    thank you for taking the time to share with us at The Wednesday Fresh Foods Blog Hop – we hope to see you again this week with more incredible posts! xo, kristy

  21. I made this a few days ago and LOVED it! Thanks for sharing it. I loved it so much I had to share it on my fb page: https://www.facebook.com/learningandyearning

  22. […] frozen peaches, green peppers and jalapeno peppers (chopped or cut in strips), marinara sauce and oven roasted tomato sauce. I’ve made oven-dried tomatoes, 2 more gallons of pickles and started to ferment some […]

  23. […] other vegetables and turned into pasta sauce using lighlycrunchy’s wonderful recipe  https://lightlycrunchy.wordpress.com/2012/08/21/tomatopalooza-continues-oven-roasted-tomato-sauce/   Roasting tomatoes, onion, garlic and carrots in the oven Using the mini blender to chop up the […]

  24. […] made two more pans of roasted tomatoes and vegetables and turned it into pizza sauce for the freezer. I washed a sinkful of cherry and grape tomatoes […]

  25. Marianne says:

    OH yes, oven roasting will give this so much flavour. Must give this a try and so useful to freeze. Thanks.

  26. […] I am not doing very well at finding new restaurants with good vegetarian options. This month I ordered in a pizza for the first time in 3 years! I adore pizza but I usually make my own. I had a weak moment. It was good! At the Summersonic festival, we gorged on delicious fresh-cut French fries, and kettle corn made on site. I must have caught the popcorn bug because last night I made popcorn in oil on the stovetop, which I have probably never done in my adult life! Although the rest of our meals were still home cooked this month, I only baked bread once and made yogurt – I just wasn’t home enough to do more. However, I was gifted with 15 pounds of ripe tomatoes, so I put up 3 different kinds, using basic instructions from Heidi at Lightly Crunchy. […]

  27. […] my source has dried up, so I may buy enough local tomatoes to make the roasted tomato sauce (from Heidi’s recipe) that I enjoyed last […]

  28. […] for ourselves and enough to share with coworkers, family and friends. We’ve been making roasted vegetable and tomato sauce, marinara sauce, I’ve shredded some zucchini that got too big before we could get to them […]

  29. trisha says:

    Do you skin the tomatoes Heidi?

    • Nope, I just put it all in the food processor or use the hand blender to grind it all up. Occasionally, if I want a little less pulp in the sauce, I will put it through the food mill, but I usually prefer the sauce to be thick.

So, what do you think?

