we’re up to our armpits in tomatoes – sun-dried tomato pesto

You’ll have to bear with me for a while. The posts lately have been heavy on the food side, not to mention heavy on tomatoes lately, but it is that time of year around here. Everything is ready at the same time in the garden. We can’t seem to give enough of it away and I feel like I shouldn’t let it go to waste, so there has been a lot of time spent in the kitchen. Ok, a lot is relative. There has been more time spent in the kitchen than usual with lots of summertime lounging around thrown in. I have brief periods of intense activity followed by something a lot less intense. Start slowly and taper off.

Maybe 40 or 50 tomato plants was too many. Some of those were volunteer plants, though. I didn’t think they would be so abundant. Our garden is starting to look a little like The Day of the Triffids. Some of those plants might soon grow legs and attempt to take over the planet.

Last night we wanted pizzas and I had been thinking of using the oven dried tomatoes in olive oil on them, but instead I decided to make a pesto and use it instead of the pizza sauce. It was great with cooked chicken, green pepper slices and ricotta cheese, definitely a keeper. I’ll be making more and freezing it for future pizzas. This is a bit of an un-recipe – these measurements are an approximation because I eyeballed the entire thing and kept going with the ingredients until it looked and tasted right. My pesto was thick because I wanted it for a pizza sauce, but it would be easily loosened up with some more olive oil. I used walnuts only because that is what I had on hand – you can use pine nuts, or toasted almonds or even roasted pumpkin seeds. If you want a vegan option, subsitute nutritional yeast for the parmesan cheese.

Sun Dried Tomato Pesto (or Pizza Sauce)

  • 1 cup sun-dried tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup of the oil the tomatoes were packed in (or olive oil, if they weren’t)
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 1/2  cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1  small bunch basil (or parsley)
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 small ripe tomato (optional)

Puree everything together in a food processor until smooth. I added in the tomato to give a bit more red colour to the pesto and I liked the consistancy it gave. You can leave it out, but the pesto will be a bit more green in colour.

This made enough for the pizza, with some leftover for pasta later in the week. Or maybe a pasta salad.

Linked to Frugally Sustainable, Gastronomical Sovereignty, Live Renewed, GNOWFGLINS, White Wolf Summit Farmgirl, A Pinch of Joy

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

33 thoughts on “we’re up to our armpits in tomatoes – sun-dried tomato pesto

  1. jmgoyder says:

    If only you lived closer I would buy all of your tomatoes – I love them!

  2. Great post! I loved your reference to Day of the Triffids. I too have laundry baskets full of tomatoes. Keep coming with the ideas, please.

  3. Looks delicious! How long can you keep the dried tomatoes in olive oil?

  4. Alia says:

    Great post, Heidi!

    I was nominated for a Sunshine Award a couple of days ago. Now that I’ve been nominated, I also get to nominate 10 more of my favorite blogs. I love reading your posts and appreciate all of your comments on mine, so I nominated you! You can check it all out at http://wp.me/p1BAZi-jE. Congratulations!

  5. PJ Girl says:

    I love you tomato posts! I only wish I had as many as you (you can keep any that look like triffids though) x

  6. It’s good to see someone who planted more than they can use. I thought I had planted enough of everything this year I wanted, but I should have planted more of each. I only planted one pepper plant, but I’ve been saving the seeds from each pepper and should have quite a bounty next year. I even offered to share some of the seeds with my son and his family for their garden. Luckily they took me up on the offer.

  7. Oh sundried tomato love…that sounds delicious on pizza. I will have to do that soon. So many tomatoes now, but I’m going to be sad in a few weeks when the summer veg and fruit are gone. Enjoy!

  8. Oh my; this sounds so yummy!

  9. seriously this sounds so good – I love pesto and I am positive I would love this
    reminds me of my mom’s kitchen in August when I was a kid until I hit my early 30s

  10. Subtlekate says:

    Delicious. Thank you for the recipe.

  11. Lynne Ayers says:

    It’s all that hot, hot, hot, weather we’ve had Heidi – good luck with all those tomatoes – 40-50 plants???!!

  12. oceannah says:

    Wow Heidi that’s a lot of tomatoes!
    *anna

  13. Janet S says:

    Looks great. I got a pile of tomatoes from the FM to dry and freeze, and I’ll probably be putting some in oil, as per your last post. Thanks!

  14. Sarah says:

    This pesto sounds great! We have the same tomato problem here, but it’s a good one to have I think. I love tomatoes, and love trying new things with them, so thank you for this!

  15. I can almost taste this, half way around the world!

  16. foodashion says:

    Yum! I just made some oven roasted tomatoes & this is what I am going to do with the rest!! LOVE IT!!
    Tasha

  17. Somer says:

    Thanks for including a vegan option! That really looks marvelous and the addition of the small ripe tomato seems genius for color and consistency!

  18. Jennifer says:

    This looks perfect. You could sell it!

  19. Looks delicious! Great to have another option in order to use our tomatoes.

  20. 40 or 50 tomato plants?!!!! holy bejesus! I thought I was aiming for a lot with 12! hahahaha – that is insane! at least you’re finding things to do with them 🙂

    thank you for taking the time to share with us at The Wednesday Fresh Foods Blog Hop – we hope to see you again this week with more incredible posts! xo, kristy

  21. ang says:

    holy moly that’s a lot of tomatoes! this pesto looks delish! i’m pinning it for later 🙂

  22. […] in here and there. I wrote about spiced chocolate cookies, breakfast bacon and cheddar popovers, sun-dried tomato pesto and chocolate coconut […]

So, what do you think?

