cucumber, tomato and basil salad

The full day of rain that we had the other day paid off a little in the vegetable garden. We’ve been eating cucumbers, grape tomatoes and field tomatoes, potatoes, zucchini and onions. And the peaches are out at the farmer’s markets. I bought a basket on Sunday, and we tried them grilled with ice cream when the in-laws came over for dinner on Sunday night.

This is the salad that we had with our dinner that night (and again tonight). I don’t measure anything, so I guessed on the measurements, but this is pretty basic. It’s nice and crisp, sweet and tart at the same time and full of lots of flavour, if you are using fresh from the garden vegetables and basil:

 Cucumber, Tomato and Basil Salad

  • 2 or 3 cucumbers, seeds removed, sliced
  • a couple of handfuls of grape or cherry tomatoes, halved
  • ½ small red onion, sliced very thin
  • 1 clove garlic chopped very fine
  • handful of basil leaves, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar
  • Sea salt and freshly ground pepper

Toss all ingredients together in a bowl. Serve immediately, or slightly chilled.

Linked to Frugally Sustainable, Eat, Make, Grow, I Did It Tuesday, A Pinch of Joy, This Chick Cooks,

Tagged , , , ,

28 thoughts on “cucumber, tomato and basil salad

  1. I have these ingredients! I am going to use this – I never have all the ingredients for a recipe!

  2. Life & Sunshine says:

    Simple yummy goodness!!!! Our favorite kinda salad!

  3. Sounds delicious. I will try it!

  4. A lovely fresh salad. Looks delicious and so satisfying to know that you have grown the produce yourself.

  5. I’m glad the rain came in time tomake a difference in your garden!

  6. This is fantastic because I just picked the first cucumber out of my garden today, and now I can combine it with the surplus of tomatoes and basil – looks delicious!

  7. Fairy says:

    Sounds delicious, now I just have to wait for summer in the southern hemisphere and I usually have an abundance of all of the ingredients in the garden.

  8. Somer says:

    Oh Heidi, I’m so behind on my blogging friend’s posts. I can’t believe I missed this salad. I’m making it today for lunch. I have everything to make it and may add some garbanzos!

  9. oceannah says:

    Heidi, looks delish…we had a similar ingredient list yesterday and served it over super thin shaved savoy cabbage! Love eating this time of year 🙂
    *anna

  10. Shira says:

    Fresh and lovely this is and the very best of summer salad making! Funny just posted a tomato salad with basil too – you really can’t go wrong with either – ever!

  11. Your salad looks wonderful, but your grilled peaches have my mouth watering!

  12. I love summer for this type of salad! Yum!

  13. Looks great, and will be a good use of the cucumber and basil in our garden!

  14. Thanks for linking to our first Eat Make Grow Blog Hop! I loved your salad. I made a simple version of it for dinner yesterday with veggies from the co-op! I just alternated slices of cucumbers and tomato in a circle around a plate and then drizzled with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Jeff loved it! Apparently he was getting tired of my “just toss hunks of cucumbers and tomatoes in mayo” salad.

    We are already on to Blog Hop #2. I hope you’ll come and link to that one as well. Feel free to link to any older posts if you think they are timely and pertinent.

    – Foy
    http://foyupdate.blogspot.com/2012/08/eat-make-grow-thursday-blog-hop-2.html

  15. Charlene says:

    This sounds wonderful. We are growing herbs for the first time so a use for the very abundant basil is good to note! Thanks for sharing on Busy Monday!

So, what do you think?

