well, at least we know it’s safe for use around children (but we are wondering if my sister-in-law needs to get out more)

I received the following email this weekend:

From: my sister-in-law

Sent: Friday, June 29, 2012 1:56 PM

To: Heidi

Subject: Issue with the Scrub recipe

Ok, mom convinced me that the short dress is nicer than the long dress…for this wedding we are off to tomorrow.  So, instead of ignoring the knee calluses and ground in dirt (cause the dress would theoretically cover it ) I need to do something about it. So, just made the lemon-olive oil scrub and now have a problem…I tasted it, and (name of mini-cousin withheld) saw me tasting it so she tasted it and now we might have to make another batch.

And there you have it. Homemade health and beauty products that are safe enough to eat (though for the life of me I still can’t figure out why).

Tagged

20 thoughts on “well, at least we know it’s safe for use around children (but we are wondering if my sister-in-law needs to get out more)

  1. lol lolo lol lol lol or if you prefer ha ha ha, though I have seen some people use he he he
    so your name is Heidi? did I know that?

  2. Oh, that is SO funny! (And I love the title) 😉

  3. Well, I’ve heard you should never put anything on your skin that you wouldn’t eat. Guess this passed the test. 🙂

  4. PJ Girl says:

    It looks good enough to eat! Very funny 😉

  5. oh my gosh is that hilarious!!! I do enjoy the ingredients in my lemon kitchen sugar scrub, but I’m not sure I’d be into tasting it….but hey. At least it’s edible and won’t hurt anyone. You can get your hands clean and scrub your knees till they’re nice and shiny and eat a handful in between! lol

  6. Somer says:

    Hilarious! My 3 year old has a habit of name calling at the moment, so I’ve taken to washing his mouth out with homemade cold process soap (he sticks his tongue out and gets a little swipe) every time he says an unmentionable word in our house. Working like a charm and no chemicals to make him sick!

  7. Game on Sista (in-law)! Mind, ha, ha…not at all. Sounds like a public offer to babysit to me?! My question is, who in the world would NOT dip their finger into lemon, sugar and olive oil…singularly or combined. Come on, I know others out there did it and are secretly agreeing and I guarantee the next time those of you reading this will test it out. I do want a shout out when you patent this stuff (as a scrub and salad dressing base), it’s terrific. Throw in some white wine vinegar and a few quick pickled onions, sub a little of the sugar for honey and voila…the best dressing ever! Live a little, try the scrub…you’ll thank me.

    P.S. Kids will arrive on doorstep tonight, thanks for the offer;)

  8. Um. You’re welcome? Did I offer? Tall kid told me she was going to yours..

    And you’re right, some shifting around and it is the basis for most of our salad dressings. A lot less sugar in the dressings though.

  9. Sarah says:

    LOL! Too cute!

  10. Haha now I am even more intrigued to try it!

  11. That’s hysterical 🙂 – I would try it too!

  12. Lynne Ayers says:

    LOL … and I love the name Heidi.

  13. Jennifer says:

    Ha! It sounds delicious and looks it too!

  14. I am sure there are many people who have to try hard to resist homemade beauty products! (In the UK we have a chain of stores that sells such products, except they do have things like SSLs and parabens in them, and actually have a warning on the packaging about not being for consumption.)

So, what do you think?

