c’mon summer..

Two more days until school is out and summer vacation officially starts for the kids, until I don’t have to make school lunches anymore, supervise homework, listen to piano practicing, until bedtimes are fluid, clothing doesn’t have to match and schedules are thrown out.

Nine more days until we head to the island to a cottage with no running water or electricity. We’ll have propane lights and a propane stove and that’s it. We’ll be unplugged, but tuned in. A couple of coolers of food, a stack of books from the library, full tank of gas for the boat and a full tank of propane for the stove and we’ll be all set to do.. nothing and anything.

With any luck this year the cormorants have moved on. Last year we awoke to an unholy noise at 5 am that sounded like what I can only imagine a Pterodactyl attack would sound like. I don’t think I’d ever heard anything so loud before.

Tagged ,

56 thoughts on “c’mon summer..

  1. They are gorgeous. I am totally jealous, it sounds like an amazing time. How long are you going for?

  2. Kristi says:

    Wow, that sounds lovely! Have a great time!

  3. Ahh the countdown. I know it well.
    Enjoy the trip.

  4. Sydney says:

    That sounds like an amazing trip! How lucky you are to have some time unplugged, enjoy every second of the uninterrupted quality time with your family!

  5. ripe red berries says:

    great post – have fun !

  6. Somer says:

    I can’t believe the kids are still in school, we’ve been out for nearly a month! That vacation looks perfect!!!

    • Really? How long are your kids out for and when do they return? Ours get 2 months and go back the first week of Sept.

      • Somer says:

        we have 3 months….. No wonder the rest of the world thinks Americans are stupid! Haha!

        • Wow, that’s a good long holiday from school. I suppose your climate is warmer down there too, though. I can’t imagine most schools want to pay for air conditioning, so getting out before they heat gets bad makes more sense.

          • Somer says:

            I hadn’t thought of it that way, but you must be right! Kids can’t perform well in school anyway when it’s boiling outside.

  7. summer personified in those pictures – as always love your posts

    • Thank you! That means a lot, because I love your writing. I hope to have some new summery pics when we get back from this trip to the island. We’ve had so many great memories over there in the past – even before we were dating, we’d congregate at the island with friends in the summer.

  8. A cottage on an island unplugged soundly heavenly. Hope ya’ll have a great time. And I love your summer photos, especially the first and last.

  9. Sounds like an idyllic holiday!

  10. sj says:

    Oh, man. Nothing but reading, swimming and eating? When should I be there?

  11. Summer vacation started here the first week of June, your vacation sounds heavenly, I hope you get some sleep this time around.

    • Me too! Inconsiderate of the cormorants to suddenly move back to Lake Ontario. We had no idea until they moved back how lucky we were that they left to begin with. I guess it means the lake is cleaner now.. but I could have done without them.

  12. oceannah says:

    Sounds terrific 🙂 I’d love a little slice of that island too.
    *anna

  13. It sounds divine! Although routine is good, I find it refreshing when school holidays come around and there is such a liberating feeling of taking a break from the normal routine.

  14. shoes says:

    Sounds like a wonderful time – what a great break from the crazy pace of normal life. Enjoy!

  15. Having the run of a whole island sounds like a dream! Have a wonderful time. 🙂

    • Well, the whole island is only about 2 acres, so it’s not huge, but enough that the kids can explore in the wooded part while we read quietly. And they can swim.. which they do. A lot.

  16. Love this! came to you from your comment on Onthehomefrontandbeyond. have a fabulous time. It sounds idyllic. 🙂

  17. Sounds wooooooonderful! I’m enjoying the break from school, myself. 😉

  18. I loved the photographs. Enjoy your break. It’s school holidays here in Queensland for two weeks. It’s the middle of winter so not sure what the holiday is supposed to be for. Still, the kids love it.

  19. subtlekate says:

    Your cabin sounds amazing. Can I come? What a great summer that is for you and your kids.

  20. Tammy says:

    Your photos are grand! They show the essence of summer!

  21. I had to look up what cormorants were..and found they were birds that in numbers can be overwhelming…so hope you have a vacation without them bothering you too much..but it sounds like a very nice idea for a complete get-a-way from civilization…Diane

  22. Peggy says:

    Found your blog on my sister’s, On the Homefront, love your take on life and the adorable pics of your kids, will be following you from now on.

  23. IntrovertedSarah says:

    We are a week away from having our winter break (only two weeks) but like you, I am ready for it. No more homework, no more tired little boy at the end of the week, just relaxing and doing some fun things. I hope you enjoy your summer getaway and get a few ours of relaxation for yourself in.

  24. Shira says:

    Wonderful!! Love these shots – here comes summer! Though we are very slow to start out here!

    • I hope it dries up soon for you over there and summer starts soon. Mine starts today (sort of) with a day off, then I work the long weekend, then two weeks off, plus two more weeks later on. So looking forward to it!

  25. Around here everyone jokes about those who have “cabins” and those who have “cottages,” LOL!

  26. Hi Heidi I nominated you for a Versatile blogger award on my blog. If it is okay with you I am borrowing your beautiful picture of your daughters to link with your bog. Please let me know if this is alright….

So, what do you think?

