back to the normal routine

The  city cousins were off early this morning right after breakfast, and the rest of the family is over at the farm looking after their horses, so I have a brief bit of quiet at home. I could do some housework.. but won’t. It’s good to have quiet days and let stuff go sometimes. I even cheated with the guest room clean up before they arrived – instead of actually cleaning up the craft/sewing room mess, I just hauled out some large plastic tote boxes, filled them with stuff lying around the craft/sewing/guest room and hid them away. Works for me.

I think the weekend was fun for all concerned. On the first night we had the city cousins, their grandma and our kid’s grandparents over for some homemade pizza, then on the second night we had the city cousins, plus the mini-cousins come and another old friend from high school and his young lad – so lots of kids running around (we were outnumbered). They seemed to enjoy themselves.

We had some bouncing..

Some cupcake baking and decorating..

A little ride around the lawn..

Some sparklers..

And some marshmallow toasting for S’Mores..

And this is what we had this morning (sleepy eyes).

Tagged , , , ,

32 thoughts on “back to the normal routine

  1. Lynne Ayers says:

    Isn’t stuffing stuff into bins cleaning? 🙂 Sounds like you’re having a great weekend of family and friends.

  2. What a wonderful time, you sure know how to entertain city relatives 🙂 But after a visit like that I too would be taking a little quiet time for myself. We need to remember to take time to recharge more often.

  3. I like your approach to cleaning, having fun, and taking time to recuperate! Hope you have a great week and you all get caught up on your rest. I suppose this isn’t a long weekend for you. Are your kids out of school for the summer soon?

    • Last weekend was our long weekend. Back to work and school for us tomorrow. I’m ready for the end of school, but we have another month of it yet. Hope you are enjoying your long weekend!

  4. Looks like a great time had by all & great pictures. I think a little time to yourself, relaxing and NOT cleaning is just the way to end the weekend. 🙂

  5. oceannah says:

    what a look on the young gal as she gazes is mesmerized by the cupcakes. A lovely weekend. Enjoy the quiet 😉
    *anna

  6. What a great weekend you had…where do you find all that energy?? …Diane

  7. I love your photographs. They really show the atmosphere of the fun weekend. Love the winsome photo of ‘sleepy eyes’.

  8. amberwideman says:

    I love the “little ride around the lawn” photo. We used to get/give tractor rides when we were kids too. My dad always claims that we all learned to drive by giving tractor and golf cart rides. Also, your farm looks beautiful! When I was younger I used to always say that I was more of a “city” girl than a “country” girl but I’ve been finding that as I get older I appreciate the wide open space and beauty of the country more and more. It looks like you have a good dose of that 🙂 Now give yourself a nice little break…it sounds like you’ve had a busy weekend!

  9. Roar Sweetly says:

    Looks absolutely idyllic. The background in the first photograph looks like the movie set of a farm. I know I’m a city girl, but it’s just the way a farm would look in my imagination.

    • Thanks! Our farm is just a storage business for boats and cars. There hasnt been livestock in our barns since my husband was a kid.. Hence the open barn doors. The real farm is next door at my in-laws’.

  10. introvertedblogger says:

    I love the sleepy eyes. You had a busy time, make sure you take a moment to rest.

  11. Shira says:

    Loving the look of that bonfire! And what I wouldn’t give for a ride on the back of a John Deere!

  12. What a fun weekend! The pictures are wonderful. I’m sure everyone is exhausted. I’m glad you didn’t clean too much before guests arrived 🙂 I don’t either and no one seems to notice!

  13. mselene says:

    Sounds like the perfect weekend. 😀

  14. I love your mid-air shots. Fantastic!

  15. There’s nothing like a whole bunch of kids running around and having fun to lift the spirits!

  16. Very enjoyable post! Now we also want to come and visit! love the sleepy eyes photo.

  17. Looks fun! Love the “city cousin” reference. I wonder if my kids’ “city cousins” will one day call them “suburban cousins?” LOL

  18. Jennifer says:

    What a wonderful childhood they’re having!

  19. […] celebrated Mother’s Day at our house, entertained friends, we had some cousins come and visit and enjoyed a night out at the theatre. We even managed to find a few four leaf […]

So, what do you think?

