turning it over to you

Gratuitous picture of the lightlycrunchy household

Today, I got nothin’. I’ve got a cold and feel fuzzy and dumb. So I’m going to turn it over to you. As you have seen, this blog is about my family living life more simply and more like our parents and grandparents did. I’ve shared a few tips with you about how we simplify our day to day lives, now I would like you to share some with me. Or, leave me a comment about something you might like me to try out in this space. I like to try new ideas. My kids get into anything that looks like a good experiment too.

 So please leave me your comments, suggestions or simple living tips. And tell me one thing about you too. I know there are some lurkers out there. I’d like to get to know you. Leave a comment, say hi, make my day. Even you, mom, if you read this one.

Tagged , ,

33 thoughts on “turning it over to you

  1. Hi! I enjoy popping in to see what you’re about. I think it’s wonderful actually that you’ve been able as it were ‘to step back in time’ and live a bit more like it used to be years ago. It certainly seems right for your family !!….Diane

  2. Janet S says:

    What a beautiful house! We are working on a super fixer upper out here in the San Francisco Bay Area, which is kind of fun, and kind of frustrating. I enjoy reading your blog. Keep up the good work.

  3. Sara Tetreault says:

    Sorry you’re not feeling well, Heidi. Your home is lovely. Try miso soup – it works wonders around our house when someone has a cold.

    • I might do that. I’m on my way to the grocery store. And then to my mom’s. My husband is out tonight, so mom is going to make up dinner. Funny how you go back to your mom when you are feeling sick.

  4. I hope you feel better soon, nothing can disrupt a home like mom getting sick.

    My situation is different from yours as my boys are adults now, but two tho which make my days simpler and free up time are: 1. never go to bed with dirty or cluttered home. It makes getting up in the morning much more pleasant. 2. I figure out what I HAVE to get done the next day before going to bed and do that first thing which leaves me the majority of the day to do whatever strikes my fancy.

    • I try not to go to bed before stuff is cleaned up. Its not always possible. Lately, though, since my mom moved into town, she drives back in to my house each morning to put my kids on the bus (isnt she fantastic?) – it gives me incentive to make sure everything is in its place before she gets there.

  5. Jennifer says:

    Oh gosh, I hope you feel beter soon. Colds are no fun! I’d like to hear more about you and your husband and how you grew up down the road together. DId you like him then? Did you think he was a cutie? Or was he just some boy that lived down the street? And what did he think about you? I love those stories.
    This weekend there is some sort of rock shrimp festival over on the island and the ferry is leaving straight from town (which it usually does’t do.) We were thinking about doing that on Saturday. My honey doesn’t like to plan anything on the weekends, so don’t know if I can convince him. But it sounds fun, right?

  6. Enjoy your day off and feel better soon.

    My simplified living still includes laptops, iPods and iPads, cellphones and digital cameras, but somehow it feels simple. Maybe it’s my frame of mind. I’ve got very little attachment to my “things.” We don’t entertain often, don’t have a busy social life, and spend a lot of time as a family (Son and Grandson both live with H and I).

    • Thanks!

      We use our devices a lot too. I love my iPad and SLR, but I keep my cell phone turned off. I can usually be reached at work or at home and hate talking on the phone anyway.

      We do entertain friends and family a lot, which I think simplifies things for us a lot – we aren’t going out and spending for entertainment, we get it at home this way.

  7. emmycooks says:

    I am trying to improve the feeling of zen in my house by keeping a dozen houseplants alive (really, this time!). It would probably help to throw out several years worth of cooking magazines, too. 🙂

    • I have a couple that I manage to keep alive through the winter inside and then move them outside in the summer. I have a bit of a reputation at work for killing house plants. They constantly wonder out loud how I’ve managed to keep two children alive for so long.

      I do like houseplants though – good luck with yours!

  8. Shira says:

    We are de-cluttering! We’ve a tiny little house in this beautful city and need to look around every few years do do a clean sweep and get rid of the ‘too much!’ I love your blog, btw and your whole way of life. Lovely home you have too!

  9. introvertedblogger says:

    What a lovely house you have. I hope you are feeling better soon.

  10. Heidi says:

    I just started following you recently and I too am a 40ish mom, named Heidi, only I have a 4 year old boy.

    I hope you are feeling better.

  11. I hope you feel better. I never knew you could make your own vapo rub! How fortunate you are to have your mom so close.

  12. introvertedwriter says:

    Heidi, I love your home. May you be feeling better when you read this.

  13. Sally says:

    Oh, I hope you’re feeling better. Here’s a topoic for you – top simple things to do to ease a cold (or other ailments)… sip honey & lemon in warm water, etc.

  14. Hope you’re feeling better after a weekend of rest (were you that lucky?). Here for a cold or sore throat we simmer cinnamon sticks for tea. You can put some in hot water in the crock pot and leave it on a good long time, ladling out a cup whenever the fancy strikes. Makes the house smell wonderful!

    • I’ll have to give that a try, thanks. I still have a nasty cold, but life goes on. No days off for me. But I’d like to try this one out – sounds nice all around.

  15. I like your blog because it combines simple living and free thinking – good combination 🙂 At our house we live pretty simply and spend a lot of time discussing social issues, current events, philosophy, etc.

  16. Thanks in part to the inspiration you provided in your blog and also Jennifer Ward-Pelar’s, I decided to let my dryer sit idle – at least during the summer – and go back to the good old days when clothes were dried on the line and smelt ever so much better.

So, what do you think?

