mommied out

We are trying to raise independent children; hopefully they will be able to think for themselves and will have good decision making abilities by the time we are done with them. However, they are still little, and I hear a lot of “Mommy? Mommy! Mooooo-ooooooom!”. I don’t know about you, but it drives me slightly bonkers. So I made a new rule a couple of weeks ago. I no longer answer to Mommy unless they say it with an English accent.

The small squeaky one is all over it. She once spoke for an entire week with a Scottish accent after watching How to Train Your Dragon. The tall hormonal one finds it a little embarrassing in public. It amuses the crap out of me.

Tagged ,

35 thoughts on “mommied out

  1. My rule was that no one could holler “Mom” from another room. They actually had to come into the room where I was, and speak to me in person 🙂

  2. I love it! Do you feel regal when they say it?

  3. That cracks me up. It reminds me of a comedian I heard once. He was dating a girl from England, and he said no matter what they said it sounded cool. Even if they said “Mommy, I pissed in me nickers” you couldn’t possibly get mad because the accent was so cool.

  4. very innovative…to avoid that constant ‘automatic’….yelling of Mommmmyyyyyy. While that was a long time ago for me every mother remembers…..Diane

  5. amy b. says:

    Very funny and a great way to show them something that bugs you in an entertaining way. Thanks for your comment on my blog!

  6. Renee' says:

    OMG wish I would have thought of that! My son is 16 and brooding/quiet.

  7. emmycooks says:

    I love it! I’m definitely going to adopt this one. It’s always helpful to build a little levity into otherwise annoying situations! My girls are 1, 3 & 5 and we have a house rule that only one of them can cry at once. The 3 & 5 year olds are the ones who always bring it up and it usually distracts the older crier enough to turn off the tears. 🙂 (Also, we usually get a laugh after the baby cheers up when I tell the big sister: OK! Now cry all you want.)

  8. Sara Tetreault says:

    I can totally relate! I only recently (as in 2 years ago) became MOM after being Momma/Mama for years. On certain days (when my teens are too grown-up for their tender years!) I miss that term but you are right….we want our kids to grow up, move out and be independent and that doesn’t happen overnight! Great photo, too.

  9. Oh, so funny! Yes, as a mom to four, there are days when “Mommy” certainly loses it’s lovely sound and instead just grates.

  10. Somer says:

    Hilarious! that oughta stop the screeching calls for ‘mommy’ dead in their tracks! Makes me want to get one of those clickers and see how many times my kids call for me each day. I’m reckoning it’s in the 100s.

  11. How funny! I learned when mine were little that the only way to keep my sanity was to use humor. They learned well as they too use humor in raising their children.

  12. introvertedblogger says:

    How about with an Australian accelt. Ahhhh it gets grating after awhile. My middle one calls me Mama with an english accent which is pretty cute.

  13. Jeanette says:

    ha! brilliant!!!! I just might copy you on this one.

  14. subtlekate says:

    I should teach mine to say mummy with an American accent. Mommmmmmmy.

  15. subtlekate says:

    Mommmmmmy eh! I love it.

  16. Hi! You know I love your blog, so today was my chance to pass an award on to you…I’m handing over the Kreative Blogger Award and you are first on my list! Here’s the link: http://finefrugality.wordpress.com/2012/05/04/kreativ-blogger-award/
    Have a great day!

  17. Jennifer says:

    This made me sit right here and laugh out loud. I’ll have to try this! LOVE it!

  18. df says:

    My youngest, who is eight, has been in a phase for a while now where he has to say my name multiple times within seconds, as in “Mum?Mum?Mum?Mum?Mum?Mum?”. My rule is ‘say it once and then just bloody well wait’! My husband is a Brit, so I love your request of your children; I must try that.

  19. That is absolutely hysterical! 😀

So, what do you think?

