signing up for 4-H

Our tall hormonal kid is signing up for some 4-H clubs this weekend. Is it a little weird or slightly geeky that I’m excited about it? I was in 4-H for a few years, starting at her age. I learned to cook, sew, quilt, bake bread, judge hay (and I wasn’t a farm girl) and I think there was even a girly make-up and homemade beauty product club (funny how life has come full circle again). I even attended one with my husband way back in the days when I still thought he was a dork. It was outdoor adventuring or something similar. I think I could still manage to arrange shelter if stuck in the woods without much for supplies. He’d probably be sleeping out in the rain.

The dad was in Junior Farmers – I’m not even sure if they still exist. Mostly, I think he learned how to train a heifer to lead by pulling it along behind a tractor the day before the fair.

I went on a 4-H exchange to Saskatchewan for a week when I was 15 and attended weekend conferences at Kemptville College – little tastes of independence in my early teen years. I hope our kids have similar experiences. For now, we’re off to sign up for a horse club and a cooking club.

Personally, I hope she signs up for a cake making club. I could get behind that venture.

Tagged , ,

14 thoughts on “signing up for 4-H

  1. Somer says:

    I think 4H is great! I’m thinking I need to follow suit and get my 8 year old involved! Thanks for reminding me about it!

    • I think the ages might differ according the the area you live in, but here it is 9 to start. My 8 year old is quite upset she can’t join this year.

      • Somer says:

        Aha! I will check it out. Thanks! My brother has his young kids involved in 4H but they raise farm animals and I don’t know if there is an age limit for that.

  2. Sherry says:

    My sisters and I were in 4-H for years (Home Ec.). It was a love/hate relationship at the time (play outside or go to a meeting) but I am oh-so-grateful for the experience today. I’m hoping to get my daughters involved with 4-H when they’re old enough!

    • I don’t think we had as much of the issue with play outside or go – ours always took place in the morning over the winter weekends or in the evenings after dark. I remember enjoying the chance to get out and do something new.

  3. Sarah says:

    Yay! I’m excited for her too. I don’t think it’s weird or geeky at all. It’s wonderful! I was in 4-H from 8-19 years old. Like Sherry said, it was a love/hate relationship sometimes, but I would never trade the experience for anything. I learned how to sew and bake a few cookies too. 🙂 My favorite part was the trips. Especially with the International 4-H Youth Exchange – they sent me to Australia and New Zealand to live for a summer, and it was the experience of a lifetime. Without 4-H who knows if I would have ever been able to see those beautiful people and places?!

    I’m voting for cake making with you!! Keep us posted and happy, happy weekend!

  4. Shira says:

    Yes, 4-H – I loved it as a kid! It didn’t last long but I do have fond memories – I hope she loves it!

    • She’s pretty geared up about it. The little one is jealous, which makes it all he better for the older one. And the first meeting takes place in a tack shop, so she’s excited about that too.

  5. amberwideman says:

    I was definitely a 4-H member. I signed up for the “Octoberfest” Club, Cooking Club, and of course the Art Club. I was never really into the outdoorsy or animal-themed clubs. It’s funny looking back now and seeing how things come full circle. I think the best part about the 4-H club was that we got free ride passes for the local fair. Such a bonus! 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!

  6. I loved 4H! I showed sheep, sewed, cooked, made airplanes, took a leadership course (against my will)… every year my whole family would take the week off and spend it at the fair. That was small town life at its best 🙂 A great opportunity for kids to learn possible survival skills that their parents may not be able to teach them…

  7. Kristi says:

    Oh yay! My 13yo signed up for 4H last year and is in the rabbit project. She is SUPER hoping to be part of the pig project too—all this from a little hipster chick who isn’t a farmgirl AT ALL. She just loves animals. What a cool thing for your daughter! 🙂

    BTW, thanks for the like on my blog post today! Nice to “meet” you! 🙂

So, what do you think?

