soothing bath oil – PMS relief

Apparently I occasionally fall into the deep end of the hormone pool and maybe become just slightly unbalanced. Only slightly. And I’m almost certain it’s usually someone else’s fault. I’ve been playing around with essential oils lately, so I looked around for something that might help keep me out of the deep end.

I found a recipe for bath oil that called for ylang ylang and clary sage essential oils to be added to jojoba oil (a carrier oil), but jojoba oil is expensive, so I asked about alternatives at our health food store. The owner recommended grapeseed oil, which she uses for everything and it had the bonus of being relatively cheap. So, I tried it with very nice results.

The ylang-ylang oil “has a euphoric and sedative effect on the nervous system and helps with anxiety, tension, shock, fear and panic while the aphrodisiac qualities is useful for impotence and frigidity”. I think it smells nice. And if I’m using it for PMS, we can probably rule out that last part.

“The estrogenlike properties of clary sage essential oil may help restore your hormone balance and alleviate some of your symptoms.” (livestrong) I wouldn’t say this one smells nice, but it’s not offensive. And baths make me happy.
 

Bath Oil Recipe for PMS Relief

  • 1/2 cup jojoba oil (or grapeseed or similar oil)
  • 16 drops Clary Sage Essential Oil
  • 16 drops Ylang Ylang Essential Oil

Blend the oils together and store in a glass bottle (apparently a dark bottle is better, but I had a clear one – probably fine if you store it in a cool dark spot). After you have drawn your bathwater, add about 1 1/2 teaspoons of the bath oil blend to your bath water.

A cup of epsom salts as well made this a very soothing bath. Book and music optional, but recommended. The aches and pains of the day were soothed, therefore the mood was better and I did sleep peacefully all night (which isn’t as common as it should be). I didn’t have a single dream about living all alone in a cabin in the woods (which is more common than it should be).

This is also a very nice thing to do for someone you love if you see that it’s needed. Don’t say anything stupid out loud, just run the bath for her and retreat.

Linking to Frugally Sustainable, A Pinch of Joy, Sorta Crunchy, White Wolf Summit Farmgirl, Mind Body and Sole

Tagged , , , , ,

22 thoughts on “soothing bath oil – PMS relief

  1. sj says:

    I can definitely use something like this!

    • If there was just a way to say there all day with the door locked and not turn into a prune.

      And bubbles. Bubbles help. And chocolate. And I should have added an ounce or two of some kind of alcohol. In a glass, not the tub.

  2. Deanna says:

    I’m laughing at the last line, “Don’t say anything stupid out loud, just run the bath for her and retreat.” So true!

    I’m a firm believer in the healing properties of both essential oils and epsom salts. I will be giving your mix a try!

  3. Susan says:

    Well then, let’s make a Costco size family batch!

  4. Shira says:

    Loving all the DIY action – this looks perfect …. to go with the epsom salts you posted about! Awesome!

  5. Lynne Ayers says:

    Having you do all this research and experimentation on our behalf is GREAT – thank you for this.

  6. Janet S says:

    Great idea. Grapeseed oil is great for sautéing too because it has a very high smoke point. Good for me as I’m always testing our smoke alarms when cooking. I’m pleased to know I can use it for a body oil too. Thanks!

  7. Can I send you my little one while I lock my bathroom door and enjoy all of the above suggestions plus a few candles for, say, 2 or 3 hours? Sounds like the perfect solution to me!

  8. It’s definitely someone else’s fault, yes. 😉 I have to try this, I have only ever made bath salts! I can smell the relaxing scent from here…Love baths, wish I would make more time for it, but usually that involves chasing my cat out of the bathtub where apparently it’s great to nap and then cleaning the cat fuzz out before having said bath.

  9. subtlekate says:

    I’m going to pick these up at the market tomorrow.

  10. True versatility, really. Will have to make some for myself next time. I remember an ex boyfriend years ago telling me about cleary sage, his Mom had a aromatherapy store… And I went looking for it everywhere but couldn’t find it at the time. He was also the only one that would just make me a cup of hot tea, unasked mind you, spontaneously, when I had PMS problems 🙂
    Just wanted to let you know how much I enjoy your blog! I nominated you today for the Versatile Blogger Award. Check out my post for the details. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and ideas! http://wp.me/p1SLLp-w4

  11. This looks like a little piece of heaven. And the picture is so professional! I love your pictures, woman! And your ideas. I just want to keep you inside my head all the time!

    • Thankyou so much! I was just thinking that my pictures have turned to crap since I dropped my camera and still haven’t had it fixed. I will, and soon, but its good to know that they aren’t as fuzzy as I think they are.

      And I enjoy reading your posts too.

  12. 'Becca says:

    Apparently I occasionally fall into the deep end of the hormone pool and maybe become just slightly unbalanced. Only slightly. And I’m almost certain it’s usually someone else’s fault.
    I know just how you feel! 🙂 Thanks for the recipe; I’ll try it. I have had some success at calming PMS by taking Vitamin B6 and evening primrose oil supplements.

  13. I’ll have to look into the B6. As far as the bath goes – well, baths always makes me feel good, so that has got to be a help! I can’t make any other healing claims, other than I looked up the essential oil properties that I used for it and they seemed like a good fit.

    You could also try it out as a massage oil – if you let someone get close enough when you have PMS

So, what do you think?

