chocolate bird’s nests

This is a cute and quick dessert idea that my smallest kid and I whipped up in just minutes. We are having a roast beef dinner at our house tonight for my side of the family, so I thought an easy dessert was in order. We made some vanilla ice cream and will serve these chocolate bird’s nests along side it.

The hardest part of this recipe is cleaning the chocolate out of your 8 year old’s hair afterwards.

I found a few recipes and modified them to suit my needs. I even managed to incorporate some coconut oil, but you can skip the oil and use butter instead.

Chocolate Bird’s Nests

  • 1 package semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 package butterscotch chips
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • chow mein noodles (1 used two packages, probably around 6 cups worth)
  • miniature chocolate or malted easter eggs

Melt the chocolate chips, butterscotch chips and oil together. Add noodles and stir to combine (if the mixture looks too loose, add more). Scoop by the spoonful onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper (or use a silpat like I did), shape into nests and put little malted eggs in the middle. Allow to set for about 30 minutes (I sped things up by putting it in the fridge).

Linking to Six Sister’s Stuff, Cheerios and Lattes, Country Momma Cooks, I {heart} Naptime, A Pinch of Joy, Cups by Kim, Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms, The Peaceful Mom

Tagged , , , ,

22 thoughts on “chocolate bird’s nests

  1. sj says:

    Just tweeted this story. These sound really cool, and I might try to make them at some time other than Easter. We still have eggs to decorate and lemon-lime cupcakes to frost.

  2. Kate says:

    Never thought of trying this! Thanks for the tip

  3. Janet S says:

    These are so adorable! Too late for me to try though, unfortunately. Our family get together is today, and I just flubbed two cakes this morning. Trying to do too many things at once, truly. I’m making your nests next year though…super cute idea!

  4. How many ounces in each package of chips? I’d love to make this recipe!

  5. Lynne Ayers says:

    This looks so easy I could probably even do it.

  6. Hi. Just wanted to let you know how much I enjoy your blog! I nominated you today for the Versatile Blogger Award. Check out my post for the details. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and ideas!

  7. How cute! I especially liked the rabbit plate and the comment about washing the chocolate out of their hair!! 🙂

  8. These are lovely, I wish I saw these before easter! I may make different colored nests next year! Like take white baking chocolate and dye it. So fun!

  9. these look amazing!!! great recipe and such a cute picture.

  10. Six Sisters says:

    These don’t last long at our house! We loved having you link up to our “Strut Your Stuff Saturday.” We hope to see you again soon! -The Sisters

  11. […] #2 Chocolate Bird’s Nests […]

  12. Mackenzie says:

    Thank you for linking up last week at Saturday Show & Tell! You were featured this week! Come by and link up again; we’d love to see what you’ve been up to this week! 🙂
    http://www.cheeriosandlattes.com/saturday-show-tell-6-4-13/

So, what do you think?

