french breakfast muffins (a.k.a. donut muffins)

Another weekend, another full house at our place. We had a spur of the moment overnight guest last night and tonight our girls have a couple of friends spending the night.

This morning I was up at 5:30, thanks in part to a pacing dog and a partner who was flopping around in his sleep like a dying fish, so I decided to make some muffins for breakfast. I remember my mom making a muffin similar to this and took a look around for a recipe to suit. They definitely aren’t a healthy breakfast muffin – they are a treat.

This is my take on the recipes that I found. These are slightly denser muffins – like a donut or maybe pound cake. It’s nearly impossible to mess up this recipe. If, like me the first time, you use cold milk and it curdles the solids in the butter, just add a little extra milk, but you should still have a relatively thick batter. I’ve also increased the nutmeg and I added a little vanilla.

I’ve made the muffins twice so far today – I made 6 extra-large muffins for breakfast, then I made 24 mini-muffins for an afternoon snack for the kids. They are all gone.

French Breakfast Muffins (Donut Muffins)

  • 1  1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1  1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup room temperature milk
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 F. Stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, nutmeg and salt.  Make a well in the center of the mixture. Stir together egg, milk, vanilla and melted butter.  Add egg mixture to flour mixture; stir until just moistened (batter may be lumpy).  Spoon batter into well-greased muffin tins.  Bake 20 to 25 minutes for large muffins, 15 to 20 minutes for mini-muffins.

For sugar topping:

Melt 2-3 tbsp of butter and brush over warm muffins. Sprinkle tops with a cinnamon-sugar mixture (2 tbsp sugar & 1/2 tsp cinnamon). Serve warm.

Linked to Six Sister’s Stuff, Frugally Sustainable, A Pinch of Joy, Homestead Simple

Tagged , , ,

27 thoughts on “french breakfast muffins (a.k.a. donut muffins)

  1. Littlebit says:

    I have made these for many years and they are a favorite of everyone! I love the heavier texture. Made your lemon hand scrub..LOVE it! Thanks for sharing your recipe.

  2. wish you were here to make me some treats – am going to have to put more effort into baking – love the sound of these

  3. Muffins look delicious, and those young people will soon run off the calories.

  4. oceannah says:

    Oh man, they look very tasty…waiting on dinner right now and hungry as a bear.
    *anna

  5. slowborg says:

    Yuuuuuum! I’m still in bed reading this…I think brekky muffins are the go today thanks!

  6. IntrovertedSarah says:

    How delicious these look. I shall enjoy them vicarously though your beautiful family.

  7. sj says:

    I might try making these and add a little lemon zest.

  8. Barbara Good says:

    Ooh now I bet Miss Three would actually eat breakfast if I served these, they look great. I’ve always been curious about pound cake, what exactly is it? Not something we have here.

    • I made them again this morning. They are quick and easy and the girls gobbled them up quickly. It was a treat, but they ate them with fruit, so it wasn’t too bad.

      Pound cake has a pound each of butter, egg, flour and sugar (or some 1:1:1:1 ratio of that). Are you in the UK? I think it’s called sponge cake over there.

      • Barbara Good says:

        I’m in Australia but we also call it sponge cake. For some reason whenever I heard the term pound cake I imagined something dense and heavy (probably due to the use of the weight term in the title I guess) but if it’s sponge cake I couldn’t have been more wrong.

  9. PJ Girl says:

    These look gorgeous – can’t wait to make these!

  10. Shira says:

    I need to make these for the kids next weekend! They love fresh muffins (and only classic kinds none of my granola muffine recipes)…these look so simple and awesome!

  11. df says:

    My boys would clamour for these if they knew of them; think I’ll have to come clean and share the recipe.

  12. Somer says:

    I definitely need to continue my current carb fest and make these. YUMMY! I might even make them to take on my overnight weekend race! Do they keep well, or are they best eaten the same day?

  13. My kids would be thrilled if I made these in the morning. Thanks for the recipe! Sorry that you were up so early. I only dream of sleeping in now.

  14. Yum! Will have to try these on the weekend instead of sending out the husband for doughnuts :)

  15. […] and grilled. We’ve had a few house guests on the weekends and the resulting treats were French breakfast (donut) muffins and […]

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,320 other followers

