warm bacon salad dressing (continuing on a salad theme)

I know warm bacon salad dressing doesn’t sound overly low-cal or diet worthy, but it fits in with healthy eating once you consider that the bacon is a protein that will help keep you full and you should have a little fat in your diet. Plus, the rest of your family will more likely at least try salad once you’ve dredged the dreaded green stuff in pork fat.

Now that I’ve made you feel better about it, here’s a little something to make spinach salad more palatable:

Warm Bacon Salad dressing

  • 5 slices bacon
  • 1/2 sliced red onion
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard, or more to taste
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Cook bacon in a skillet until crisp. Transfer the bacon to a paper towel lined plate to drain (or drain it on a rack of some sort if, like me, you don’t have paper towel at home). Chop and set aside.

Pour off all but 2 tablespoons of fat from the skillet. Add the onions and cook for 2 minutes, stirring occasionally. Whisk in the vinegar, desired amount of mustard, honey, and salt and pepper, to taste. Scrape the brown bits from the bottom, stir and remove from the heat.

You can mess with the amounts a bit – salad dressings are a bit of a trial and taste process in our house. Add more vinegar, dijon or honey until you get it to your taste.

Toss the chopped bacon with a salad of spinach, sliced red onion, sliced mushrooms and some chopped or sliced boiled egg. Pour the warm dressing over top. Serve warm.

Confessions of a lazy cook: you can cook several packages of bacon at once, chop and store in the freezer. Reserve the bacon fat in a jar in the fridge. All you have to do to make a quick dressing is reheat the bacon with a couple of tablespoons of the saved grease.

Told you I was lazy.

Linking to Cups by Kim, Frugal Days Sustainable Ways, GNOWFGLINS

Tagged , , , ,

11 thoughts on “warm bacon salad dressing (continuing on a salad theme)

  1. Yum this sounds so intesting! And I just happen to have some bacon in my fridge…

  2. ndjmom says:

    I save my bacon fat in the fridge and will have to give this a try, sounds wonderful!

  3. Janet S says:

    Wow! That sounds fantastic!

  4. Oh you are my hero! I thought I would have to wait weeks and weeks for this yummy dressing recipe. I am so excited to eat a salad now. Bacon makes everything taste good! Thank you so much!

    • You’re welcome. I got it out to you as soon as I could – that’s why no picture. I didn’t have the camera out when I made it last (we had company and they might think me strange if I suddenly start photographing my food).

  5. Yum. With a poached egg on top!

  6. Lynne Ayers says:

    This does sound good … Ok, I’m going to copy this one out. Done.

  7. Mm, delicious. I need that.

  8. This sounds delicious! I have to try it!

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,323 other followers

