easy homemade irish cream fudge and liqueur

My husband thinks his family was kicked out of Ireland for stealing horses. I’m willing to believe that Ireland may have kicked them out for some reason. Regardless, in appreciation of all things Irish for St. Patrick’s Day, and because it looks hard while still being easy, here is something that I’m making to impress the co-workers. Both recipes listed below are cheap, easy and impressive.

This isn’t for the kids. You don’t want them wandering around downtown looking for some good craic.

Bailey’s Irish Cream Fudge

  • 300 ml can condensed milk
  • 3 1/2 cups chocolate chips (I use semi-sweet)
  • 1/3 cup Baileys Irish Cream
  • 1/2 to 1 cup of chopped walnuts (optional)

Slowly melt chocolate and condensed milk together over medium low heat. Add Irish Cream. Add a handful of chopped walnuts too, if you like. Scrape into a 9″ square pan (either use a silicone pan or a pan lined with saran wrap – it’ll come out easier). Chill in fridge until set.

That’s it. Cut it up and eat some.

And if you are out of Baileys and would like to try making your own Irish Cream, here is the recipe that we make at Christmas:

Homemade Irish Cream Liqueur

  • 1 can condensed milk
  • 1 1/2 cups whisky
  • 1 cup table cream
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tbsp chocolate syrup (don’t be shy, use more if you like)
  • 1/2 tsp coconut extract (though I skipped this once when I ran out and didn’t notice the difference)

Blend together. Keeps for a month in the refrigerator. Or, if its Christmas, a few days.

Sláinte! Now, go find a good céilidh and enjoy St. Patrick’s Day.

Linking to White Lights, Bacon Time, Cozy Home Scenes, Frugally Sustainable, Learning the Frugal Life, The Delectable Home, This Chick Cooks, Gingersnap Crafts, A Turtles Life for Me, Our Delightful Home

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “easy homemade irish cream fudge and liqueur

  1. sj says:

    This isn’t for the kids. You don’t want them wandering around downtown looking for some good craic.

    Omgosh, I laughed SO HARD at that!

    • Hey, with my two, it could happen.

      • My Mom would have said it would happen to her kids too! I guess I can admit this now since I’m of legal age. My parents do not drink at all. However, when my brother and I were kids, they would let us have a sip of alcohol if someone gave them a bottle of wine or something. I think in reality, my parents thought it would taste so horrible that we would never want to drink. I don’t think they expected I would like the taste. Hee hee!

        I don’t drink either, but I do cook with alcohol. I think it’s safe to say I’d like this.

        Yet I have to ask….if I am wandering around downtown, can I blame YOU? Just kidding!

        Thanks for adding your recipe to my party this week.

  2. Bailet’s and fudge all in one? Yum! Would love for youto share at:

    http://iamaddictedtorecipes.blogspot.com/p/link-party.html

    Have a great day!

  3. Oh my, this sounds absolutely divine!

  4. Good morning! Wanted to let you know that I’m featuring your recipe this week as one of my Scrumptious Sunday #2 picks! You’ve been featured on my blog and Facebook page. Thanks again for sharing!

    http://iamaddictedtorecipes.blogspot.ca/

  5. Fudge is one of my all-time favorite foods, so I’m definitely going to try this! Thanks for linking up.

  6. [...] be.  She’s pretty funny and is full of neat tips for doing things yourself at home.  Like making your own Irish Cream Liqueur.  No, I’m not kidding.  Mrs Crunchy, thank you so much for thinking of me when you received [...]

  7. [...] us. Normal life at our house. The kids will make some cards for the grandmas, I usually make some fudge or something similar, and I include a new gardening magazine or some flowers because both moms are [...]

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,314 other followers

